Skip to content

Too stubborn to quit…

04/03/2011

So I recently began this new running training plan- it’s called the Couch2-5k plan and it’s amazing. It’s a great program (with an app for my Ipod) that’s meant to build you up to being able to run a full 5k. You start with small increments of running, alternating back and forth between walking and running. So far I’m on week 3. Technically speaking I could be on week 4, but I don’t feel completely comfortable enough to move forwards just yet. 🙂

Why am I doing this???—To lose weight? Heck no (I wish I could gain a few pounds instead)! To get in shape? Partly. Just because I want to? Entirely. I’ve always envied people who are “runners.” I’ve told myself that I can “never become a runner,” because I’ve never been remotely athletic. I was always the skinny girl in high school (who seemed in shape), but was huffing and puffing when having to run the yearly one-mile in gym class. Now, however, I don’t think you really have to be athletic to become a runner. I think it’s more mental than physical. Although I’m far from being able to run a 5k, I know I’m not going to give up. Despite some knee pain and tiredness, I am just too stubborn to quit!! I think what’s keeping me motivated now is just simply having a goal in mind. I don’t like failure and I don’t like giving up so easily. I know that I will be proud of myself if I continue with this plan so that’s just what I’m going to do. 🙂

“I may not be there yet, but I’m closer than I was yesterday.” 

~Author Unknown

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

