Skip to content

Calling all risk-takers

04/27/2011

I’ve always admired people who take risks. I’m not talking about huge life-changing risks. I mean the type of risks you can take everyday– saying how you feel, speaking up when necessary, ignoring what others think. I admire people who are spontaneous- people who don’t need to follow a set schedule; people who set their own rules; people who are flexible and can do whatever whenever. Why do I admire these people? I admire them because it takes guts to take risks. You must be brave to be a risk-taker.

I, myself, am not a risk-taker. I enjoy my schedule; I thrive off of routine and structure; I’ll admit that I even worry about others’ opinions of me. I don’t know exactly why I’m like this. I was raised to be confident, caring, and capable. I am an intelligent, young woman, but I still have my insecurities. I sometimes worry that my insecurities will get in the way of my happiness. How will I live a completely happy and fulfilling life if I constantly stay inside my comfort zone. It seems silly to think about, but I genuinely worry about this. What can I do to change this? I feel that I have grown much more outgoing within the past couple of years (before that time, I considered myself “shy”- believe it or not), but I still stray from taking chances. I am a definite work in progress. I think I need to try to do something once a week that takes me outside of my familiarity- something that might even make me feel uncomfortable in a way. Any ideas? I feel like I just wrote about planning to be spontaneous and take risks, which may be a total contradiction in itself, but oh well– my blog, my thoughts.

What do you think? Can you live a completely happy life without taking risks, taking chances, and being spontaneous?

Would you consider yourself a risk-taker?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

