Skip to content

Self-Confidence.

04/30/2011

Confidence is something I constantly aim for. I will admit that I do not always consider myself “self-confident.” I doubt myself and my abilities sometimes as we all do. Lately, however, I have found that I am feeling more and more confident in all areas of my life. I think this has to do with some recent changes/improvements I have made.

Here are the ways I have found to improve my confidence:

1.) Try something new. I have found that trying out a new hobby/activity can completely change your attitude and give you new perspective on things. I have recently (probably about 2 months ago now) taken up running, and although, I’m no marathon runner whatsoever, running has given me more confidence. I have found that I like the challenge of running, and I feel better about myself after I’m finished a good run. I also feel like I have more energy afterwards. This is why I am running now. I am running to be challenged and to meet goals I set for myself.

2.) Set goals for yourself. I have recently begun to set short-term and long-term goals more concretely for my life. I am setting goals in all areas of my life– including my personal life, at work, and for graduate school. Setting goals makes me feel more confident in my strengths and abilities. I find that I’m more motivated if I have clear goals written down (or even typed in my blog) for myself.

3.) Don’t sweat the small stuff. I know we’ve all heard this expression time and time again, but it is just so true! I have found that in the past I have become stressed out very easily (especially in the work setting). Lately, however, I’ve been learning that there are certain things I can control and other things, which I have no control over whatsoever. I am continously reminding myself to only worry about the things that I can control. Don’t stress over the little things that go wrong!

4.) Stay positive. Going along with the above, I find it incredibly important to stay positive! I know- easier said than done, right? I struggle with this too. The trick is, though, no matter what, to try and think about all of the positive things you have going for you. On my most stressful days, it helps me to think about the things I am thankful for and the little things going on that make me happy. By trying to maintain a positive attitude, I feel more confident and capable as the person who I am.

5.) Take time out for yourself. I think we all need to have stress relievers in our lives. It’s perfectly acceptable to pamper ourselves from time to time– take a nap, take a bubble bath, eat some ice cream, whatever…By taking care of myself  and treating myself to things, I feel better about my life and more confident overall.

 

(http://raisingfigureskaters.com/2010/07/07/selfconfidence-wordart-freebie/)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/30/2011 7:02 pm

    I really like this post. I’ve been trying to incorporate these things in my life too. When I a negative thought pops in, I try and spin it around to a positive. Not easy and I’m not successful with it every time, but I try.

    • 04/30/2011 7:09 pm

      Thanks for the comment. I agree– it’s not always to stay positive, but it makes life so much more worthwhile. 🙂

  2. 05/01/2011 12:17 am

    What a great post. It is so great to step back sometimes and look at how you can improve your confidence. I’ve been setting a few goals myself lately and the big one was to get walking/running outside more often!

    Starting today, I’m hosting a 100 Miles in May Challenge! If you’re interested in participating, come over and visit my blog: http://www.smallhomebigstart.blogspot.com/ All participants are entered in a draw for a $20 gift card from Amazon!

  3. 05/01/2011 3:41 pm

    Really great post – I love that running has given you confidence. I’d have to agree that running has had that impact on me as well. It’s not something that comes naturally to me, so the challenge has really forced me to trust myself and to have faith that my body can do something that my mind doesn’t always want to believe. And that gives me confidence.

    • 05/01/2011 3:49 pm

      Thanks for the comment….I’m right there with you!! Running does not come easy to me- yet. I am hoping as I continue to challenge myself, it will become easier 🙂

Leave a Reply

