Skip to content

Just breathe.

05/03/2011

Breathe. Just breathe.

*****************

 

Learn to let go of the things you cannot control. Most things are out of your control. The things that probably frustrate me most on a daily basis are the things which are outside of my control. Why do I let things over which I have no control stress me out? I think it’s only natural for all of us to do this, but how can we prevent our own tendencies and over-reactions? For me, sometimes the best thing I can do is question myself….sometimes it’s in the moment of my reaction and other times, it’s later on after a situation/event has taken place. Ask yourself: Is this something I can control? If the answer is no, think about what you do have control over. We all have control over our own behaviors, words, and reactions to things. We can only control ourselves. As much as I’d like to believe otherwise, I cannot control others’ choices. The toughest thing for me, sometimes, is accepting the answer to this question, and then- moving on.

 
 
 
“Some days, doing “the best we can” may still fall short of what we would like to be able to do, but life isn’t perfect on any front-and doing what we can with what we have is the mot we should expect of ourselves or anyone else. ” 
 
— Fred Rogers (a.k.a. Mister Rogers)
 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

