Skip to content

Progress.

05/05/2011

After tonight’s run/walk, I’m feeling incredibly optimistic about this new challenge of mine. I am feeling proud. I am feeling like I’m making progress.

 

Tonight, I did my normal routine (following the couch25k plan). My workout consisted of a 5 min. warm-up, 8-minute run, 5-minute walk, 8-minute run, and then a 5-minute cool-down. I felt so good the entire time….it was hard to complete each minute running interval towards the end, but I pushed myself, and I did it.

 

 After I had come home, I went for a drive to clock my distance (I don’t have any watch or device to do this as I run). I clocked my whole route out and back to be about 2.6 miles. More importantly, however, I discovered that during my first running interval, I ran a mile in 8-minutes. I ran an 8-minute mile. Now, this may seem like no big deal for so many people, but for me this is HUGE. This is progress!!! After clocking my route, I started to think back to myself about 6 or more years ago. I saw my middle-school or high-school self running our yearly mile for gym class. I always dreaded it. Year after year, I would suffer to complete just one mile. Truthfully, I would probably walk more of it than I did run. I remember it taking me 12-minutes (or longer) to run one mile.

 

Today, I ran an 8-minute mile, and I feel great. I remember in school feeling beat after doing my 12-minute mile, but tonight I ran/walked 2.6 miles, and I am feeling great. I can’t believe how much has changed! I am hoping to get faster and run farther distances, but I am already seeing progress. I can do this. I can be a runner! Tonight just proved that.

 

I am no longer that high-school girl in gym class, pushing herself to walk the mile in 12-minutes. I am so much more.

 

                                                         

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/06/2011 10:08 am

    Hello? An 8 min mile?? That is awesome! I don’t even come close to that! Rock on!

Trackbacks

  1. The Story Behind the Blog! « Let Me Be What's Underneath

Leave a Reply

