Skip to content

One thing I’ve learned….

06/16/2011

One thing I’ve learned in my short life is that it’s more important to have real friends and less important to have more friends.

 

I’ve never been apart of the “popular crowd” growing up. I didn’t have all the greatest friends or boyfriends throughout high school. I have always relied on having a few close friends to support me while growing up. I’ve grown to realize that “fitting in” or hanging out with “the cool crowd” is not what’s most important. It’s more important to have a few close friends who you know you can trust; who support you; who listen to you; and who care about you. These friends have changed from time to time in my life, but I still feel very fortunate to have the friends I do in my life.

 

Days like today really remind me of the importance of true friendship. I had an awful day at work– I felt stressed and overwhelmed. After our clients had left for the day I literally sat in my office for a few minutes wanting to either cry or scream before tackling my messy office; sorting through the clutter on my desk; typing a few emails; making a few phone calls; and getting other miscellaneous tasks accomplished.  After finally making some progress and leaving after an almost 10-hour work day, I felt better, but I was still feeling somewhat stressed and somewhat overwhelmed. Luckily enough for me, I have people that I can call when I’m feeling this way who are there to purely listen at first (allow me to vent), give me advice, encourage me, and empathize me. Thank god for my friends. I love the feeling you have when you feel completely understood and supported. For me, that feeling comes from talking to my friends and other people who truely support me. After talking to two of my friends this afternoon/evening, I felt less stressed and less overwhelmed. I felt more calm and capable. I felt in control of my emotions and better able to handle my stress— simply from talking with my friends. I felt encouraged, knowing that I have people who are willing to help me when I’m having problems- big or small.

 

 

I hope that each and everyone of you have the ability to feel understood, supported, and cared for– by a friend- new or old. I think we all need friends like this in our lives to help us get through our struggles-big or small because let’s face it: life can be frustrating and stressful sometimes. Sometimes having a friend to get us through these things is what we need most. 🙂

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/17/2011 8:59 am

    TOTALLY agree. Some friendships have an “expiration date” I’ve learned. And I’ve gained and lost friends over the years and it’s fine with me – the friends I cherish are the friends worth having. I always feel like friendships shouldn’t be hard work, if they are – they aren’t worth it.

    • 06/19/2011 1:28 pm

      So true. I’ve had friendships in the past that have required “hard work,” and those are the friendships that haven’t lasted. Sometimes, it’s so comforting to know that you have friends who will always be there even if you don’t talk to them everyday. When it’s important, they’re there; and that’s really all that matters.

Leave a Reply

