Skip to content

Happiness is a choice.

06/25/2011

Happiness is a choice.

 

This is something I seem to be constantly reminding myself of as of lately. I think this is something that we all find difficult to remember from time to time, but it is such a true statement. Lately, I’ve had plenty of things to be upset about or angry about….or even annoyed about in my life. I am beginning to realize, however, that giving into any of these negative feelings is only going to make me miserable. And I know people who are miserable. We all do. Those people who make something out of nothing, find the need to complain about everything, and simply always seem to be in a bad mood. I hate those kinds of people. I do not want to turn into one of those people.

 

Does this mean that we don’t all have the right to be miserable sometimes? Absolutely not. But who wants to live a life feeling this way. I believe that we need to experience all of the negative emotions to truely understand happiness. Happiness doesn’t always mean that everything is perfect (because let’s face it, life isn’t perfect). Happiness means that we’ve looked beyond all of the negative things to find the things we can and should be thankful for.

 

 

Happiness is a choice. And honestly, I’d rather choose happiness than any other feeling in the world.

How do you gain happiness when everything seems to be going wrong sometimes? The answer is not always simple. For me, though, it means looking for happiness in all of the places you know you can find it- such as in the enjoyment of beautiful sunny weather, in the laughter and conversation had with a good friend, and in the feeling of accomplishment after a good work out. Sometimes, happiness can come from simply choosing to appreciate all of the little things in life. Happiness is the choice we all make to have a positive attitude and look for the good in the people and things around us.

 

 

I encourage everyone to take the time today, this weekend, and everyday to appreciate the little things that provide you with happiness.

Think of all of the positive things that you experience on a daily basis. I would imagine that all of these positive things outweigh the bad in your life.

And if not– maybe you’re not looking hard enough. Afterall, happiness is a choice.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/28/2011 10:10 am

    Great post! I totally agree that you create your own happiness and choose to be happy. It’s hard to remember though.

    • 06/29/2011 10:16 pm

      Thanks! This is definitely a difficult thing to remember, but so true!

Trackbacks

  1. The Story Behind the Blog! « Let Me Be What's Underneath

Leave a Reply

