Skip to content

Doing the right thing…

06/30/2011

Doing the “right thing” often seems like a simple concept. We all know right from wrong. Most of us were raised with proper values and ethics. We all have the ability to speak up when we see something that’ s wrong or harmful to another individual in some way.

 

But what’s the cost of doing the right thing? Lately, this has troubled me. Can you ever know you’re doing the right thing, but still feel bad about the aftermath? Without getting into much detail here on the blog, I will say that just recently I found out something in the workplace, and I did something about it. Now, however, I am struggling with the results of my decision to speak up. I know I did the right thing, but I still feel bad. Numerous friends and family members (who know the details of the situation) have told me that I did the right thing, but I still can’t help but feel bad. The aftermath is not affecting me, but I know of the negative impact it will have on someone else.

 

Am I wrong to feel bad? Have you ever been in a similar situation?

How do you cope with the negative feeling that sometimes comes along with doing the right thing?

(sharlapatrick.com)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Judy permalink
    07/01/2011 10:24 pm

    You did the right thing. Sometimes it is hard. We are all a big part of our destinies.

    Have a great weekend.

    Judy

Leave a Reply

