Skip to content

Not going to feel discouraged!

07/04/2011

As many of you may know, I’ve recently (now a few months ago…) started the Couch2-5k running plan. I’m not running to lose weight and by no means am I on a diet!! I decided to start running because it’s something I’ve always wanted to do. I’ve always been jealous when I’ve seen those individuals out running on the side of the road–those individuals that make it look so easy! I wanted to start running to feel more physically fit (I’ll be honest and say I was barely exercising besides walking before starting my training plan).

I wanted to start running to feel more motivated and have goals set for myself. I wanted to start running to feel better about myself.

(helloboomers.com)

What have I discovered along the way?

  • I’ve learned that things most definitely do not always go as planned! I imagined myself starting the schedule of running and going 3 days/week and advancing to the next week each week. This didn’t always happen. I missed runs due to feeling tired, overwhelmed, or just being too busy! I didn’t always feel comfortable moving on to the next week of the plan, so I repeated weeks. Technically right now, I’m on week 7 of the plan (and I’m okay with that).
  • I’ve learned that there is no such thing as a bad run…Every time I have ran, I have ended up feeling good afterwards. Even towards the beginning of my plan (when my legs ached!) I always felt proud of myself for getting out there and giving it my best shot. There have been many days when I haven’t felt like running, but after I’m done my run (no matter if it went well or not so well), I’ve always felt happy that I did it. I’ve learned that it doesn’t always matter how fast you are or if you take a walking break here and there–what matters most is that you get out and give it your best effort.

    • I’ve learned that running is very often more mental than physical. After the first few weeks of my plan, I hit a sort of mental roadblock. I felt like I couldn’t run for the continuous five minutes (which now seems so easy!) that the plan was requiring me to do. I took some time to really think about why I was stopping during my run to walk before I got to the five minute point. Was I too tired? Was I phsyically out of breath? Was my body unable to keep going? I answered no to all of these questions, and I quickly realized that I was being tricked by my mind into stopping!! I told myself that I was too tired and that I couldn’t continue. The next time I ran, after this reflection, I pushed myself. I told myself that I could keep going. I ran. I ran for my entire five-minute interval. It seems so simple now, but at the time this was a major break-through for me.
    • I’ve learned that I need to schedule my run. Between work, going to classes part-time, and wanting time to relax; I have often felt too busy to run. I’m realizing more and more (still today) that I need to schedule my run into my planner or in my phone or on my to-do list. I need to make my run a part of my schedule just like work or school. If it’s written down, I’m more likley to follow through with it. And like I said before, I always feel better after I’ve made the choice to go ahead and run.
  • I’ve learned that running can be a major stress-reliever! Sometimes it’s hard and it’s painful and it seems like it might be better just to take a nap…but truthfully running has been such a stress-reliever for me. When I’ve had a bad day at work or when I just need to think, running helps. I’m able to just put my head phones on, go for a run, and clear my head. I now really understand the enjoyment that many people get from running!

  • I’ve learned that I am the only one who can make myself feel discouraged. In running, just like in life, there are going to be setbacks. Things do not work out perfectly (or even close sometimes). Just because things don’t go as planned does not mean that I am a failure or that I should feel discouraged! I’ve learned to cut myself some slack and focus on the positives. I have made so much progress with my running! Who cares if I haven’t met every single goal that I’d like to? I am only human. I have plenty of time to work on becoming a stronger runner and achieving my goals. For right now, I’m doing the best that I can, and that’s all I can ask of myself. 🙂
4 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/05/2011 9:41 am

    Awesome post, I love reading about your running progress!!! And all the learnings along the way, it seems like running is a never ending circle of learnings and growth and change. That’s probably why I’ve learned to love it so much, for real.

    • 07/05/2011 8:49 pm

      Thanks Jess….I really appreciate you reading! It’s glad to know I’m sharing whatever I write in here with someone!!

  2. 07/07/2011 11:46 am

    I really enjoyed this post! I have recently started the couch to 10k and it’s awesome to find someone blogging about doing couch to 5k at the same time. I totally agree with you on having to plan the runs yet still being flexible, I feel like I’m either doing one of these runs or I’m at the gym every day. Great post!

    • 07/07/2011 9:45 pm

      Thanks for the comment! I will have to check out your blog as well to read about your running journey. Hope your plan is going well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

