Skip to content

Being happy with what you have, where you are.

07/18/2011

I’ve been thinking lately about how most of us are seldom happy and satisfied with what we have and where we are currently in our lives. I’m not saying we’re unhappy, but most of us (myself included at times) are constantly searching for that “next best thing”– that new job, that next big thing we’re going to buy, that new relationship, or that next vacation we’re going to take. The list could go on and on. We are constantly on the search for “happiness.”

 

Whatever happened to just being happy with what we have at the point where we are in our lives? I find myself frustrated when people close to me in my life will ask me what job I want to obtain after I finish graduate school or “how much money can you make working in a job like that?” These questions mainly trouble me because I feel like people are trying to rush things in my life when I may be happy just as I am right now.

 

What’s wrong with recognizing the things you currently have in your life to be happy for? Why do some of use search for happiness and forget to enjoy the here and now. Often times those of us who can’t be happy with what we have are the least happy people.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/16/2011 10:25 am

    Hi there. I came across to this site when i was looking for this picture (http://pinklea.files.wordpress.com/2009/12/alone-time2.jpg?w=263&h=252&h=252). Since I love reading personal blogs, I read one of your post which catch me, i.e. this one and I do love it.

    I’ve read a local novel about the search of happiness where the idea is that anyone will not be able to be happy if she always thinks that she needs to have something or someone in order to be happy. that happiness itself is actually a journey not a destination.

    I do agree with your idea about happiness you post here. I’ve bookmarked your blog. Would love to read more.

    Cheers, 🙂
    Decci

  2. 08/16/2011 7:42 pm

    Thanks so much for reading and for your kind words! You can subscribe to my blog on the homepage….I will definitely continue posting!

Leave a Reply

