Skip to content

Negative Nancy

07/25/2011

Okay…I admit it, sometimes I complain. Actually correction, I often complain. I complain about work and school and how tired I am and how hot it is. Complain, complain, complain– I do it a lot!

I can stop myself though- I have limits. I can complain, but then I can step back and see all of the positives. This is what separates me from being negative all of the time.

My rant today is about those people who are negative all of the time. I like to call them Negative Nancy’s. We all know people like this–those people who complain about everything-all of the time, people who always see the bad in just about every situation, people who thrive on complaining to others about how rough life is. I hate people like this, and hope I never ever turn into a constant “Negative Nancy.”

People who fail to see the bright side of life really bother me. I don’t consider my life easy or not stressful by any means, but I make a constant effort to be positive and optimistic. A positive attitude can take you further in life than any education, amount of money, or knowledge. Being optimistic is proven to make you happier and less stressed. People who are optimistic also tend to be in better physical health. 

There are so many reasons to be positive and benefits to our physical and emotional well-being—why bother being a Negative Nancy?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/26/2011 10:45 am

    Great post. I also find myself complaining more when it’s hot outside (especially since I work out outside) and I think complaining a little now and then makes us human. But you’re right, we all have so much more to be thankful for than we even realize!

    • 07/26/2011 5:08 pm

      Thanks for the comment! I definitely feel like complaining does make us human. Complaining can even be cathartic sometimes and help us alleviate a lot of the stress in our lives 🙂

Leave a Reply

