Skip to content

Recognizing kindness…

07/26/2011

How often do you really stop and recognize acts of kindness that happen to you throughout your day? It can be something as simple as someone taking the time to really ask how you’re doing. It could be someone holding the door for you or letting you turn out into traffic in front of them. It could be someone close to you doing a favor for you or someone paying you a compliment. It could be big or it could be small. This act of kindness might have a large impact on your day, or you might barely take notice of it. How often do you really stop and take notice of these acts?

I’ll be honest and admit that I don’t often truly recognize kindness that occurs on a daily basis in my life. I’m busy. I’m stressed. I have work and papers to write and phone calls to make and emails to send. I’m tired. I want time to relax and just chill out. I like to de-stress and not think about anything at all.

 

But am I really too busy to recognize kindness?  It seems silly. Sure I say thank you when I’m paid a compliment or when someone does me a favor, but do I really stop and show them true appreciation? Do I take time to appreciate their kindness? Probably not. I take acts of kindness for granted sometimes. I expect people to be kind. I think that it’s normal and natural for people to be kind.

 

 

 

Because of this perspective I have, I try to treat people with kindness as often and as much as possible. A huge part of my values is kindness. This doesn’t mean, however, that I always completely appreciate the kindness that others show to me. I thought of this today when my co-workers went out of their way to help me have an easier day. It was something as simple as cutting me a break on a van run taking kids home from our camp program, but it was kindness in its purest form. All of a sudden today, I stopped to really think about how kind people are to me on a daily basis. I said thank you to my co-workers and expressed my gratitude, but is this enough?

 

I feel like I can still do more to truly express my appreciation for acts of kindness I receive on a daily basis. I shouldn’t just “expect” kindness. I should recognize acts of kindness. I should appreciate kindness. I should express my gratitude. I should value  kindness.

 

 

 

 

 

  • So how do you show others that you are grateful for their kindness?
  • What is the best way to show others that you really appreciate them and their thoughtful actions? 
  • How do you express appreciation to co-workers (similar to my example)?
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

