Skip to content

Being alone vs. being lonely.

07/30/2011

Sometimes, I think people spend so much time emphasizing the importance of relationships and being with others that we neglect to remember the positive aspects of being alone. There is a clear difference between being alone versus being lonely.

 

Being alone can be a choice–it is a state of being. Being alone can mean opportunity–opportunity to do what you please and get lost in your thoughts without having to worry about those around you.

 

 

Being lonely, on the other hand, is a feeling. It is not a state of being and typically not a choice. People feel lonely. Sometimes, we can be in a crowd of people, but still feel lonely. Feeling lonely might result from feeling disconnected to other people or not feeling understood by those around you. You do not have to be physically alone to feel lonely.

 

I think people frequently confuse these two terms: Alone versus lonely. Lately, I’ve been thinking about some of the benefit to having “alone time”- spending some time completely by yourself. I think that my alone time allows me to properly unwind and de-stress sometimes more than I can do within the company of other people. Also, my alone time helps me reconnect with myself and my own thoughts and feelings. I really appreciate the fact that I can spend time alone and just get lost in my thoughts. I think that this is a good thing. My alone time allows me to be creative. It allows me to reflect back on my mistakes and choices I have made. It allows for self-improvement. For me, my alone time can consist of almost any activity blogging, walking, running, just listening to music and relaxing. The activity doesn’t really matter.

 

 

 

 

The truth of the matter is I value and appreciate my alone time or what some might call- my “me time.” I don’t feel lonely during these times. My alone time is a choice. I think that all of us should find a way to have some alone time in our lives- whether we are single or in a relationship, have a large family or not, have many friends or just a few. It is important to take some time just for ourselves. It is important to know that we can depend solely on ourselves and our own thoughts for happiness and fullfillment. It is important to know that no matter what we always have ourselves and that has to be enough.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

