Skip to content

Setting goals for August…

07/31/2011

Setting goals is something that I consider to be incredibly important. When starting my blog it was my expectation that I would set goals for each month and then have a check-in at the end of each month. Yeah, well….I’ve neglected this, but there is no time like the present to start this up again!

 

 

I’ve been reading a book lately called- The Happiness Project and the author, Gretchen Rubin mentions that a huge part of her project to be happier was creating goals for herself- both short-term and long-term that she wanted to complete. Some of Rubin’s goals are large while others are small– and even may sound somewhat silly.

 

 

Creating goals of any type or size helps me to stay motivated and provides me with a sense of self-satisfaction. Through creating goals, I then work hard to achieve these goals thus increasing my self-esteem, as well. I’m going to try to start keeping track of my goals monthly here. I will try to post my goals at the start of each month, and then keep everyone updated on how I’m doing!

 

So here it goes! My goals for August….

 

  • Get back on track with my running schedule. Over the past month, I’ve neglected my running schedule at times due to being too busy with graduate school work. My classes are now over for the summer, though, and I really want to get back on track! Running is still something that’s new to me, and I am not giving up! For this month, my goal is to run at least 3 times per week. This should be manageable now that I’m just juggling runnig around my work schedule!
  • Spend more time reading for pleasure. After only reading textbooks and writing papers, I haven’t had any time to read for fun! I love reading, though, and I want to make it a goal to always read at least 15-20 minutes before I go to bed each night. This will hopefully help me feel relaxed before bed instead of staying hooked into the television or computer.
  • Stay organized/be more organized. Over the past 5 weeks, I’ve been working a summer camp program at the agency where I work. Starting on Monday, however, I’m back to my regular job description (which includes: working with clients and their families, scheduling appointments, making phone calls and sending emails, paperwork, talking to insurance copies, etc…). My goal for work is to try to stay organized or even be more organized. I will do this by making a weekly to-do list of what I need to get done each week at work. I will try to mark most things off of my to-do list by Thursday afternoon so my Friday will not be any more stressful than it has to be!
  • Drink more water (and less soda). I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. I drink way too much soda. I’m going to start trying to limit my soda intake this month. This will be a work in progress so I will have to keep everyone update on how this goes, but I will try to drink less soda…and more water! 🙂
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Bonnie permalink
    07/31/2011 8:34 pm

    I like the fact that you are going to try to read for pleasure. It is so important to me, and I feel that we all deserve to take the time for ourselves even only if it is only a small part of the day.

  2. 08/01/2011 11:35 am

    Awesome list!! I’ve been harping on the water thing with a good friend of mine who barely drinks ANY water. I’m a water drinking fool so anytime I see her, I’m like “did you drink any water yet today???” I can do the same for you if you’d like 😉

  3. 08/01/2011 3:40 pm

    Haha….your friend sounds just like me! I need that encouragement as well 🙂

  4. 08/03/2011 9:34 pm

    yowza…….our goals are a lot alike! so glad you found my blog — can’t wait to check yours out more, too! good luck with your goals…i know you’ll nail them!

  5. 08/08/2011 5:34 pm

    Haha….I was thinking the same thing!

Leave a Reply

