Skip to content

Summer Faves!

08/08/2011

Somehow over half of the summer has gone by without this post.

 

 

I’m not sure how that’s possible, but nonetheless– this post is dedicated to: the summertime!

 

 

There are so many things I love about the summertime I barely know where to begin! I guess my love affair for the summertime began when I was just a kid– growing up, I absolutely loved our family vacations to the beach. Really any beach will do for me, but as a child we frequently vacationed at Myrtle Beach, SC or at a small deserted beach in Topsail Island, North Carolina. Vacations were a time of complete relaxation for me. (Honestly, I’ve never understood why some families plan a complete to-do list of activities on what’s supposed to be their vacation.) I enjoyed a week-long vacation at the beach resting, sun-tanning, reading, building sandcastles, and swimminng in the ocean or pool. Nothing could compare. It was absolute bliss. 🙂
Unfortunately (due to money, full-time jobs, and a multitude of other reasons) now, these family vacations to the beach are non-existent, but I can still remember them with a smile. The summertime reminds me of all of these great memories!

 

 

Now, the summertime still makes me happy. As soon as the weather heats up and it turns June, I still feel that twinge of excitement.

 

Some of my favorite things about the summertime are:

 

  • Summertime fashions: As soon as the weather gets warm, I break out the sandals and flip-flops, tank tops and flowy shirts, shorts, skirts, and sundresses. There is something so cute and completely natural about throwing on a sundress and flip-flops before leaving the house. 🙂

 

  • Fresh fruit and veggies! I absolutely love homegrown tomatoes from my local produce stand. I also can’t get enough of: strawberries, watermelon, and cantalope! Yum. Nothing beats fresh fruit in the summertime.

 

  • Sun tans. I love having a nice golden tan in the summer. Sometimes, this comes from actually sitting outside tanning. Lately (without necessarily having the time to sit outside), self-tanning spray/wipes work just as well. I feel better and healthier when I’m tan, and I have no shame admitting it!

 

  • Cooling off by going swimming (in a pool or at a beach). No explanation necessary here.

 

  • Ice cream, ice cream, and more ice cream! Actually it doesn’t have to be ice cream. It could be water ice, popsicles, or ice cream. I’m such a sucker for Dairy Queen and Rita’s. And there is also something I can’t resist about homemade ice cream at small, local shops in my area. I love it!

 

 

And there you have it– my post dedicated to summer.

 

 

Now, tell me— What’s your favorite part about the summertime? 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/08/2011 9:48 pm

    Had a yummy sundae this weekend, myself 😉 Summer or winter, though, I’m always all about the ice-cream!!!

    • 08/09/2011 8:59 pm

      Oh me too!! Actually I will go for anything sweet…especially anything chocolate-y!

  2. 08/09/2011 10:00 am

    EVERYTHING about summer makes me happy. Especially all the ridiculous amounts of fruit I consume this time of year – loads and loads of watermelon, cherries and nectarines! MMM!

    • 08/09/2011 9:00 pm

      Agreed….I’m gonna be bummed when it starts getting cold again! It seems like the summer has flown by!

  3. 08/09/2011 12:49 pm

    Sundresses and flip flops for sure! Whats better than an entire out in one piece of clothing??

    Also, a lot of friends come into town so I get to see a lot of people I miss throughout the year!

    • 08/09/2011 9:01 pm

      I agree completely! Thanks for the comment (and reading)!

      It’s great that you get to see so many friends in the summertime 🙂

Leave a Reply

