Skip to content

Finding flaws…

08/12/2011

Raise your hand if you’re happy that it’s Friday! 

(I have both of my hands raised up high in the air) 🙂

 

 

I’m feeling good today. It’s Friday, and the weekend is finally here. I will be very busy next week at work, but I’m not letting that get me down at all! I’m going to take the time to relax this weekend and mentally prepare myself for next week.

 

**************************************************************

 

 

I talk a lot on here about self-confidence and about maintaining a positive attitude; today, I’d like to talk about flaws. We all have our flaws and our weaknesses– things that we’re not so good at, things that we struggle with, things that we might like to change about ourselves.

 

Some people may advocate ignoring our flaws and only seeing the positive traits in ourselves, but I disagree. I think we need to be able to recognize our flaws. I think we need to understand not just what we’re good at, but those things with which we struggle. We need to recognize our flaws and try to embrace them. To be honest, our flaws are what make us who we are. We are defined by the good and the bad.

 

 

 

 

I can’t even list all of my flaws.

 

I’m moody when I’m stressed. I hate criticism. I try to please people. I worry about what people think about me (too much). I have problems saying no to people. I am uncoordinated (sports are a no-go for me). I drink too much soda, especially Dr. Pepper. I don’t eat enough fruits and vegetables. I eat too much candy and other sweets. I enjoy order and structure and schedules– and I hate change or when someone disrupts my schedule. I don’t always say what’s on my mind even when I know I should. Sometimes, I don’t stick up for myself when I know I should. I am shy and quiet when I first meet new people. I procrastinate and don’t always take advantage of all of the time I have……

 

I have flaws, but we all do–and we shouldn’t ignore them. We should embrace our flaws. We should cling to our imperfections.

 

 

 

 

Tell me: What are your flaws and how do you embrace them?

 

Enjoy your weekend! 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. 08/13/2011 10:37 am

    I love this! There are some flaws of mine that I try to embrace, and sometimes try to temper, depending on the flaw. 😉 In no particular order…I’m too Type-A sometimes, not good at going with the flow or being spontaneous. I’m impatient and am not good at following someone else’s lead, I like to be in control. I’m too hard on myself and sometimes that leads to frustration or moments of self-doubt. I’m easily distracted, especially at work lately – I blame social media for that one!

Leave a comment