Skip to content

What would you do?

08/24/2011

 (source)

 

I consider myself a dreamer in more ways than one. I don’t think this means that I’m unrealistic or impractical. I’ve never considered my dreams too big or out of reach either. I believe in dreams. I believe that my dreams keep me hopeful for the future. My capacity to dream is what keeps me optimistic.

 

There are some “dreams” I’ve had that have absolutely come true already. It was my dream to graduate from college, (especially because my parents didn’t have that opportunity) and I did it. It’s probably always been my dream to work with children, and I’m doing it now. It’s now my dream to continue with my education and earn my Master’s degree. That’s what I’m working on now. I’m motivated to keep trying to reach my dreams.

 

There are other dreams that I haven’t accomplished, but that I know I will achieve at some point in my life. I am confident that one day in my life I will have a family of my own. I am hopeful that I will have children of my own one day and be a good wife and mother just like my mom has always been throughout my life. I am also confident that I will continue to move up in terms of my career. I hope to work as a therapist with children after I graduate with my Master’s degree in Social Work. I am hopeful that at some point in my career, I will make a difference in the life of a child.

 

 

***********************************************

 

 

But what about those dreams that you have that you are somewhat fearful to accomplish?

 

What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?

 

This question complicates things for me. I think about my dreams from a new perspective when I hear this quote. If I knew I could not fail? My dreams would be bigger. I would take more chances. I wouldn’t worry about failure.

 

 

Most people don’t know that I’ve always loved to sing. (But don’t ask me to sing on the spot in front of people! :)) As a child and teenager I “dreamed” about singing in a public in front of an audience. My anxiety over what people might think has always gotten the best of me, though. I’ve worried about what others will think. I’ve worried about failure– Will I be good enough? Will I mess up? Will I embarass myself?

 

I’ve also always, always, always loved writing. It’s still my secret dream to have my writing published (and not just in my blog). I haven’t outright pursued this dream of mine though. In fact, I haven’t really shared this dream with many people until right now. Why is this? Why do we let fear of failure limit us? I’ve already stated that I believe in dreams, but I obviously I still don’t pursue all of my dreams.

 

Wouldn’t it be great if we could all live our lives a little bit more in line with this quote? I know that my dreams would be different, and I would take risks if I knew I could not fail.

 

 

 


***Tell me: Please share with me some of your dreams–accomplished or not! Don’t let me be the only one sharing 😉

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/24/2011 7:58 pm

    I would toss my current career aside and get into something fitness/health/wellness related. Without fear of failure. Without fear that the money wouldn’t pay the bills. Fearlessly, I’d pursue my passion. Yup, that’s what I’d do.

    • 08/24/2011 8:00 pm

      Thanks for sharing, Jess. I always appreciate your insight!!

  2. 08/25/2011 12:42 am

    I would LOVE to train and actually complete a marathon one day. I did a half earlier this year and that really pushed my boundaries. I have another one in October…but I’m still unsure if I can do a FULL.

    Another thing I’d do is make a big move to a big city…ALONE. Clean slate, new start, new everything. Just because I could. I’m still young, and I really have nothing tying me down here. It’s still on my to-do list 🙂

Leave a Reply

