Skip to content

It’s all about your outlook!

08/31/2011

 

(source)

 

Once again recently, I was reminded about the benefits of having a positive outlook in difficult situations.

 

I just started my second year of graduate school this week. I’m attending part-time to get my MSW, and needless to say graduate school has me stressed sometimes! This semester I have to complete an internship which means extra time spent working (for free) outside of my regular work hours. At first, I wasn’t entirely happy about my internship placement which was set up through the human resources office. I felt begrudged because I know some of my classmates are able to complete their internship hours during the work day. I felt like people were making things difficult for me. I felt like I just couldn’t get a break! And then…I stopped thinking so hard and just let it go.  I stopped thinking so negatively. I stopped making comments about things not being fair. I stopped thinking only about myself.

 

I began to realize that the situation was outside of my control so I need to make the best of it. This will be my outlook from here on out during this experience. I will be working on the residential unit at my workplace with adolescent girls. Although I’m not quite sure of everything my internship will entail, I’m beginning to feel excited.  I’m eager to get started. Last night, as I drove home from my class, I started thinking of ideas of things I could do for therapeutic groups with the clients. I’ve decided that I’ve been given an opportunity to work with a different group of clients that I typically do, and I’m going to make it an enjoyable learning experience. I plan on giving it my all just as I try to do with my normal job.

 

 

Tell me: What do you do to make a difficult situation better? Are you a positive person? Tell me about a time that a positive attitude has helped you! 🙂

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/01/2011 12:57 am

    When I’m stuck in a sticky situation, I try to take a step back and breathe. Sometimes, stepping back and seeing the ‘bigger picture’. I’m by nature not the most positive person, so I’m lucky to have awesome people around me to push me along the way when I get stuck in a rut.

    • 09/01/2011 9:16 pm

      Glad to hear that you have some positive people in your life to keep your spirits high when times are tough!

  2. 09/01/2011 5:41 pm

    I can totally relate to this. Sometimes I feel like so many things are happening to me and it’s out of my control. The other week, I was especially feeling like this and coincidentally went to try a new yoga studio that helped put these thoughts into perspective for me. When I walked in, on the wall the following quote was painted, “Nothing is being done to you, only for you.” Now, I always think about that quote when I’m feeling overwhelmed, and think about how is this situation is going to make me better. I’m by no means a yogi, but I think I’m going to try and incorporate into my routine at least a couple times a month to put some perspective into my life 🙂

    • 09/01/2011 9:17 pm

      Love that quote! I’m going to have to share that with others. I think this is a great perspective to have in life! 🙂

  3. lapiattini permalink
    09/01/2011 8:34 pm

    It may sound corny, but when I need to make a negative situation better, I try to recite some sort of motivational mantra in my head and it usually helps! Or I’ll talk it out with someone I love and trust, which usually helps me to feel better.

    • 09/01/2011 9:17 pm

      Not corny at all….especially if it works for you! Using some positive self-talk always works for me when I’m down as well!

      Thanks for the comment! 🙂

  4. 09/05/2011 3:21 am

    I think I’m quite a positive person. I once had a friend who was very negative and I felt really drained and fed up of being next to her because she would always put negative comments on just anything.

    Being positive helps us to be happier I think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

