Skip to content

I’m a Believer…

09/03/2011

Tonight I went to the movies and saw Crazy, Stupid, Love. It’s a classic “chick flick” by all definitions. Crazy, Stupid, Love tells the story of a man who is on the verge of divorce and trying to figure out what went wrong in his relationship with his wife and how to get back his “soul mate.” At the same time, the movie documents the journey of a younger man who goes from sleeping with any random woman he meets in a bar to finding his true love. I really liked this “chick flick,” and to be completely honest, I usually enjoy movies like this one.

 

(source)

 

 

Some people might say that movies like this one misrepresent the reality of love and relationships. Some people might say that movies like this present a fairy-tale-like image about love. Some people might say that movies like this are silly and unrealistic. Although these people are certainly entitled to their opinions, I can’t say that I agree with any of them. Even though movies like this one may be extravagant and overexaggerate some aspects of love and relationships, I find movies that present love in this light to be refreshing, comforting, and inspiring at times.

 

I think that loves like the one in this movie (and in so many other movies) do exist. Despite the fact that I haven’t necessarily experienced a love like this, I know it’s out there. Call me a dreamer. Call me silly. Call me unrealistic. Call me what you may, but I believe in it. I believe in true love stories. I believe that love can be like the movies. I believe that people can surprise us. I believe that sometimes, you have to wait for the best kind of love. I believe that it will be worth the wait. Watching movies that portray love in this light doesn’t make me silly or jaded. Watching movies like this provides me with hope and continues to make me believe in what could be….and what will be.

 

 

(source)

 

 

 

 

Tell me what you think: Are chick flicks too unrealistic? What’s your favorite love story?

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/06/2011 9:12 pm

    I love chick flicks, and I love the way they make me feel about love. I believe that they do portray the ups and downs of a relationship and more importantly the love they’re depicting is real outside of the movies. In my current relationship, I feel the same love that actors have in the movie. Hopelessly in love and so happy to be in it. “Chick flicks” aren’t just a fantasy, they’re real when the time is right and when you’re ready for it. 🙂

  2. 09/07/2011 9:16 pm

    Love it….I’m so glad you have that kind of love…it gives me hope! 🙂

Leave a Reply

