Skip to content

Trying to be Miserable?

09/07/2011

Today I learned that it takes a lot for me to be miserable. Feeling miserable and staying miserable does not come easy to me. I am not one of those people who enjoys feeling miserable and love to complain. It’s just not me. I am inherently a positive person even when I try to stay miserable.

 

 

 

Yesterday I had a long day. It started out going well despite being very long and very rainy, but then it got worse. I had an argument with a friend last night, and I felt angry, hurt, and confused. It was late and I was tired so I went to bed feeling disappointed, slept very little, and fully expected to feel miserable waking up this morning. As a matter of fact I did wake up feeling miserable. I woke up in a bad mood (after getting very little sleep) to the sound of rain pouring outside my windows. I was fully prepared to be grumpy and grouchy and miserable all day long. It felt appropriate to me. I felt entitled to feel miserable.

 

 

 

Then I went to work and just couldn’t do it. I couldn’t stay miserable. I could not stay in a bad mood.

 

 

A co-worker askedy me early on if something was wrong (obviously I wear my emotions right on my sleeve). I said I was fine and that it was no big deal. Then, I went about my day. Another co-worker made me laugh without even realizing that I was in a bad mood. The kids I worked with instantly put a smile on my face just by their smiles, laughter, and funny remarks. Already, by about 9 o’clock, it was over. I was done with feeling miserable.

 

My day went on to turn out positive. Despite the pouring rain, possible flooding, kids leaving the program early, and anxiety by many clients due to the weather–my day still continued to be positive. I realized that it must take a lot of energy for some people to be miserable all of the time. It must take real effort to feel miserable and stay that way. I would rather put that effort into feeling happy on a daily basis. Wouldn’t we all?

 

Leave a Reply

