Skip to content

Back at it!

09/10/2011

After skipping out on running for about a week now, I’m finally back at it! This evening I went for a 2 mile run/walk to ease myself back into it, and it felt so good. The evening air was cool, there was a gentle breeze, and my legs felt energized. The second I started running I knew I’d made a smart decision.

 

 

 

 

Honestly this past week, I’ve been in a bit of a funk. I’ve felt stressed at times, angry at other times, and just plain lacking in energy.

 

So what did I do? I made excuses. I made excuses not to run.

I told myself that I was too tired. I told myself I just didn’t feel like it. I told myself I deserved a break because of the things I was going through. I told myself that the rainy weather prevented me from running (even though there were some breaks from the rain). I told myself that even with two days off from work, I was entitled to be just plain lazy. Frankly, I made too many excuses. I may have felt okay with my excuses in the moment, but looking back on them now, I don’t feel okay about them at all.

 

 

I strongly believe that you should take a break from running (or exercise in general) when your body and mind tells you to do so. This is not what happened to me this week, though. I could have run, but I told myself I couldn’t. My body was capable of running, but I didn’t listen to it. I listened to my excuses. This week, I plan to do a lot less of that. I plan to make a lot less excuses for not running and to not listen to negative self-talk about why I “can’t run.”

 

Truthfully, I think I may have gotten out of my funk a lot earlier this week if I would’ve made the decision to run earlier in the week.

 

 

 

*Tell me: Can you relate to this? Have you ever been in a funk  and made excuses to not run?

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/11/2011 9:04 am

    I have definitely done that in the past. It helps when I have a goal set. Like now, I am training for a Half Marathon, so it keeps me focused.

    P.S. I just recently found your blog, and I love reading what you have to say!

    • 09/11/2011 2:27 pm

      Thanks for reading and for your kind words. I really appreicate it, Lisa!!

  2. 09/11/2011 2:19 pm

    YES. I’ve totally been in a funk like this before – and taking time away from what was causing that funk made such a difference. I came back at it with a MUCH better attitude and enjoyed the workouts and running more…as it always should be. Why do something if you’re not enjoying it, right? Glad you’re feeling more like you again!

Leave a Reply

