Skip to content

Preparing for a busy week…

09/12/2011

As I’ve been mentioning lately on the blog, my schedule has become busier and busier and busier as of recently. With work, grad school, my internship, running, and attempting to have a social life—it’s safe to say that sometimes I feel a little crazy. There are times when I feel like I have literally no time, but these are the times when I realize that I need to take a step back and look at what I’m doing to make me feel this way.

 

 

(source)

 

 

As I’m sure I’m not the only one who struggles with feeling too busy, I have composed some tips to help readers prepare for (and cope with)a  busy week.

 

 

  • Schedule out your week. I am a firm believer in having a plan. I have a personal planner and a huge desk calendar at work, and these items help me stay organized. I absolutely need to write down what I have to do within a given week to help me feel in control of my schedule.
  • Prioritize. There are times when I can’t do everything. I can’t have all of my belongings organized to my exact liking. I can’t work ahead in my school work. I can’t work ahead in my job. I often have to remind myself that this is perfectly okay. I need to prioritize what is most important on my schedule.
  • SLEEP. Sleep is without a doubt critical to my health and well-being when I’m feeling busy or stressed! If I don’t get my 7-8 hours/night, I am cranky…and I don’t feel well…and I cannot focus on my schedule or anything for that matter. On weeks that I am especially busy, I need to make an extra effort to go to bed a littler earlier to get an adequate amount of sleep.
  • Have some “me time.” Despite all of the tasks on my schedule when I’m busy, I always need to take some time out during the week just for myself. Today, this included meeting up with a friend for a run after our work-day. I was able to spend time exercising, chatting, and de-stressing with this friend of mine! Other times, my “me time” might include watching a favorite television show, taking my dog for a walk, or treating myself to something special througout my day.
  • Provide myself with an end-of-the-week reward. One last thing that I often do when dealing with a busy week is plant something at the end of my week that I am looking forward to doing! Sometimes, this might just be reminding myself that I get to sleep in, while other times, it may be something more exciting!
  •  

 

 

So there you have it– my tips for surviving a busy and/or stressful week!

 

 

 

Now, tell me: How do you survive a busy week? I’m interested in hearing your tips and tricks 🙂

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/13/2011 12:06 am

    I’m like you and I MUST write everything down on a calendar. I may not always stick to it…but having something ‘tentative’ is always good to keep as a guideline.

  2. 09/13/2011 10:10 pm

    That is EXACTLY the way I feel!

  3. 09/14/2011 10:45 pm

    Since my work schedule is pretty much routine, I never really have late nights at the office, I schedule my week’s workouts on Sundays in order to ensure a balanced week of exercise. If I didn’t plan my workouts, I’d have less accountability to do them! I go through my gym’s group class schedule and then add my runs into it and just check them off as I do them. So fun!

  4. 09/15/2011 8:45 pm

    Glad you have a schedule that keeps you motivated! 

Leave a Reply

