Skip to content

Make a bad day better.

09/21/2011

I’ve found lately that no matter how stressed I may feel or how busy I may get or how tired I may be; there is always one thing that can make any bad day better for me. No matter how much work I have to do for my job or my internship or grad school, there is always one thing that makes everything a bit more manageable.

 

 

That one thing? It’s laughter. Laughter makes every day a bit better for me. There’s a study that says that most people find it hard to smile at work. In fact, statistics show that on a Monday, most people in an office don’t crack a smile until 11:16 am! This statistic couldn’t be further from the truth for me. Every day at my workplace is not perfect (usually far from perfect), but that doesn’t mean I don’t have a reason to smile and laugh.

 

 

 

 

I find plenty of little things to smile and laugh about throughout any given day. I find humor in things that my coworkers say. I laugh at funny remarks that the kids I work with often say. I laugh at myself when all else fails. I admit to myself that I am not perfect (and I shouldn’t strive to be), and I laugh. I laugh about silly things that I say and do. I laugh when I’m clumsy. I laugh when I stumble over my words. I laugh and smile at so many random moments throughout my day. This makes things more bareable for me. When I smile and laugh I automatically start to feel better. My mood begins to improve, and I instantly feel calmer and more adept to handle whatever difficult situations I may face. I also notice that others around me are more at ease when I am able to smile and laugh through the stress of my day.

 

I think that laugher is what life is all about. There is always something to smile about, something to laugh about, something to find humor in. On some days, it might be hard to find, but if you look hard enough you’ll find it. Life is all about finding those moments, and embracing those moments. Life is about making those moments of happiness count more than all of the negative ones.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/21/2011 10:09 pm

    That’s so true. No matter how bad it gets, it only gets better.

    • 09/22/2011 10:31 pm

      So true…I always remind myself how much others are suffering when I’m complaining about a bad day that I’m having.

      Thanks for the comment…and for reading 🙂

  2. 09/22/2011 10:23 am

    Totally needed this after the last few days of craptastic-ness over lots of little frustrating things. You are absolutely right, just one little giggle can make all the difference in my mood. I finally laughed at myself last night after blogging it out, and it was amazing how much better I felt!

    • 09/22/2011 10:32 pm

      I’m glad you can laugh at yourself too, Jess! Hope your week has been going better. The good news is tomorrow is FRIDAY! 🙂

Leave a Reply

