Skip to content

A Special Day

10/07/2011

Somehow last weekend I forgot to talk about a very special day that occurred. On Saturday, October 1st, my parents celebrated their wedding anniversary of 28 years of marriage. My dad stated that it had been “28 wonderful years” with a smile. While I know that my parents have had their times of stress and conflict, I also know that they have remained together in a marriage for 28 years. I know that they have provided my sister and me with all of the love and support that we have needed growing up (and stil to this day). I know that they have relied on one another during difficult times. I know that they have showed me what love and consistency looks like.

 

 

one of my favorite sayings of all time.

 

 

I feel proud of how far my parents have come. 28 years means so much. 28 years means commitment, support, trust, and most importantly– love. I only hope to find someone special to share my life with. I hope to find someone that brings me all of the love that I know I deserve. I hope to raise a family with the person I love.  I hope for 28 years (or more).

 

 

Heart in book

 

 

 

***Tell me: about the love you have or the love you want. Have your parents influenced this viewpoint in any way?

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/07/2011 11:33 am

    Wow 28 years! That is awesome, and no small feat in this day and age.

    As for me? My parents separated and divorced when I was young so I never really had “that” to look to as a way to mold my own relationship. But what it did do? It helped me to figure out what I *did* want out of my relationship and marriage to Scott – a loving bond; a commitment to our relationship, always; fierce loyalty and support of eachother’s goals and dreams; and an ability to always laugh with eachother and at eachother. I am very proud of our relationship, even if I had nobody to truly model it after. It’s uniquely ours. 🙂

    • 10/08/2011 9:49 pm

      I’m so glad you have a great love, Jess! A great girl like you deserves someone special! 🙂

      Thanks for your comment!

  2. 10/07/2011 7:55 pm

    Happy Anniversary to your parents!

    My parents have been married for 28 years as well (this past June). They have definitely influenced what I want for my future love life/marriage when the time comes. While they may have had their tough times, they have always been there for each other. And they always put family first. What more do you need?

    • 10/08/2011 9:48 pm

      Thanks Lisa! That’s exactly how I feel about my parents, as well.

Leave a Reply

