Skip to content

Out of the Ordinary…

10/10/2011

I’m not athletic.

 

 

I’ve never played on a sports team.

 

 

I don’t consider myself very competitive.

 

 

I hated running the yearly mile in gym class back in high school.

 

 

 

But despite all of these things,Β this past weekend I signed up to run in my very first 5k race. I must be crazy.

 

 

I will be running in a 5k in the town near where I live on November 19th. That’s about six weeks away. I’m already nervous, hesitant, a little scared, and very excited. This is huge for me! I have never pictured myself actually running in a race, but I will be doing just that on the third Saturday in November. My friend (and running partner in crime) and I both signed up for this race as a way to motivate us to keep running. Now, I feel like I need to hold myself accountable to my running schedule and make sure I stay on top of training no matter how busy I may become. Although I feel stressed with everything going on in my life right now, I also feel energized, motivated, and excited.

 

 

 

 

Now tell me readers (who are runners): I know it’s only a 5k, but what are some things I should keep in mind? Please provide me with some tips on running in my first race! πŸ™‚

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/10/2011 9:55 pm

    Woohoo! You’ll have fun! Just make sure to take your time and remember to have fun. Get lots of rest and stay hydrated πŸ™‚

    • 10/10/2011 10:37 pm

      Thanks for the tips! I’m super excited already! πŸ™‚

  2. 10/11/2011 8:16 am

    Enjoy it! That’s the biggest tip. Every race that I run, I try to look around and the scenery and the people and really enjoy this sport that I have chosen.

  3. 10/11/2011 12:41 pm

    Thank you so much for featuring me…you MAD MY DAY!! I am STOKED for you and you are going to love it. I agree with Lisa above….JUST ENJOY IT!!! Make sure you get plenty of rest days and keep us updated!

  4. 10/11/2011 9:51 pm

    I will definitely keep everyone updated! Thanks for the encouragement. I’m so excited already πŸ™‚

  5. 10/11/2011 9:52 pm

    Thanks for the advice Lisa! I can’t wait to let everyone know how it goes! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. The Story Behind the Blog! « Let Me Be What's Underneath

Leave a Reply

