Skip to content

5K Training…

10/16/2011

So ever since I signed up for this 5k (just for fun), I’ve started to feel just a little competitive. I’m not typically competitive at all. Even now, I’m not feeling competitive in the sense that I would like to “beat” or out-run other people. I’m feeling competitive in the sense that I want to set a goal for myself and achieve it. I really want to give this 5k my all even if I am completely new to running and this is my first race EVER.

 

 

Since feeling this way, I’ve decided I needed some extra motivation. My schedule has been so busy lately, and I have been struggling to make the time for my runs. This race is my motivation. Every time I feel like I don’t have time or that I’m too tired to run– I will remind myself about this race I have coming up. I have just under 6 weeks until my first 5k race.

 

 

I’m going to try to hold myself accountable for blogging more about my training. Below is a copy of the schedule I will be following (from www.runnersworld.com).

 

 

 

 

I’m going to stick to running three days/week (not the exact days noted in the schedule). I may try to run four if my schedule allows for it.

 

 

Please provide me with any tips/comments/suggestions along the way!
I know there are so many experienced runners blogging out there šŸ™‚

 

 

Pinned Image

(www.pinterest.com)

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/16/2011 1:50 pm

    It looks good to me. I would say, make sure you remember to stretch after your runs.

    I love that running lets you be competitive. And like you said, it is more about being competitive with yourself and not with the other runners.

    • 10/16/2011 4:37 pm

      Thanks Lisa! I definitely need to make more of a conscious effort to stretch after my runs. Hope you had a great weekend! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

