Skip to content

The Happiness Project: Book Review

10/18/2011

This post is a long-time coming! I read The Happiness Project a while ago, but I never sat down to actually post a book review. If you haven’t already– I highly suggest you pick up a copy and get to reading!

 

 

(source)

 

 

Author, Gretchen Rubin tells the story of her search to find true happiness in The Happiness Project. In the beginning of the novel, Rubin discovers that despite having a family and a successful career, she is not as happy as she wants to be. She is not as happy as she could be. Rubin decides to spend one year creating and working on goals she sets for herself to ultimately feel happier. The novel is broken up into chapters by month. During each month, Rubin sets a few (usually simple) goals for herself. Her goals involve many different aspects of her life, including physical health/exercise; family; friendships; work; finances; and more. Although The Happiness Project can be viewed as a self-help book of sorts, it is not presented in that manner. Rubin’s novel is funny and reads like a story about her journey. She is articulate as she provides accounts of how she works on her monthly happiness goals. I felt that The Happiness Project was easy to read and kept me interested. Rubin’s novel shows that we are in control of our own happiness.

 

 

I felt like I could relate to The Happiness Project at many points while reading. I can understand how sometimes everything seems to be going well in your life, but you still find yourself thinking that you’re not as happy as you could be. I can understand how it’s often easiest to rely on others for your happiness when in reality, we can only truly rely on ourselves. I firmly believe that happiness is a choice we make for ourselves.

 

 

 

 

Tell me: Have you heard about/read The Happiness Project? If you’ve read it, what did you think??

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/29/1999 8:00 pm

    I’ve heard of the book before, and was curious. Thanks to your review, I will definitely be reading it soon. I love anything that inspires us to live the best life we possibly can!

  2. 10/23/2011 3:45 pm

    Great…you’ll have to let me know what you think of it when you finish! 🙂

Leave a Reply

