Skip to content

Education doesn’t have to equal arrogance.

10/25/2011

I’m a firm believer in receiving a good education. I believe that a good education opens endless doors and possiblities. I believe that a good education can allow us to do better in life. Being educated can lead us to more success in our careers. I believe that a good education is invaluable.

 

 

open door

(source)

 

 

All this being said, heaven help me if I ever become so “educated” that I become arrogant. I hope that I never become so “educated” that I become demanding about which office I can work in and about selecting furniture for my office. I hope that I never become so “educated” that I fail to listen to others’ opinions and fail to accept help when necessary. I hope that I never become so “educated” that I talk down to others or sound patronizing. I hope that I never become so “educated” that I stop learning.

 

It’s so incredibly frustrating to deal with people who equate education with arrogance and allow this to show in their actions and words. All I know for sure is that education is life-long process. The learning never stops, and sometimes, I think I learn more from experience than I do from formal education. These people who are educated and come across as arrogant are teaching me how not to act when I receive my Master’s degree.

 

 

 

 

Tell me: Have you ever known someone who is well-educated, but incredibly arrogant? How do you deal with them?

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/26/2011 1:34 am

    YES- many of them come off as really pretentious and become really competitive with any debate. I usually just humor them and play into their antics, or just walk away. Depends on my mood I guess.

    • 10/29/2011 8:25 pm

      I wish I could use humor sometimes…I can’t when it involves people in the workplace, but I can joke about it later!

Leave a Reply

