Skip to content

Down Memory Lane….

10/29/2011

Happy (almost) Halloween, everyone! I thought today would be a perfect day to take a trip down memory lane and think about past celebrations of Halloween growing up. It’s fun to reminisce so I encourage all of you to do the same…

 

 

Pinned Image

(source)

 

 

My most vivid memories of Halloween involve a lot of the following: family, friends, costumes, candy, and trick-or-treating. I wish I wasn’t so lazy or I would dig through old pictures and scan some pictures of me dressed up in costume. I didn’t usually spend an excessive amount of money on a Halloween costume. Instead, my family and I would put together hand-made costumes or re-use costumes from years past. I often wore hand-me-down costumes from my older sister, as well.

 

 

 

Trick-or-Treat

(source)

 

 

Some of the various costumes I wore growing up include: a pumpkin, an Indian, a scarecrow, an angel, a hippy, a baby, a cowgirl, a playing card, a witch, a cat, a rockstar, and a 50’s girl! In elementary school, we would always celebrate the holiday by participating in a school-wide Halloween parade and then by having a party in our classroom. Parents were invited to observe the parade and volunteer at the party. I can remember always being excited for both of these events. The party included games, food, and fun. After school, the fun continued with pumpkin carving and then getting ready to go out trick-or-treating. I would always go trick-or-treating with my family, but sometimes a friend would tag along. I lived in a great neighborhood for trick-or-treating. Lots of houses around + friendly people = LOTS of candy.

 

 

 

So tell me….what are your memories of Halloween growing up? Favorite costume? Are you dressing up at all this year?

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Connie permalink
    10/29/2011 10:21 pm

    Favorite Halloween memory: when I was about six I was shocked to have one of the adults at one of the houses we trick or treated at demand that we do a trick to get the treat. I was dressed as a princess and I performed a royal curtesy. My friend was dressed as a devil and she had to promise to be good. never had the tables turned on me like that!
    it was also COLD on Halloween and very often your costume was covered with your winter coat. Not so these days (though this year may be an exception!)
    I love costumes. Some that I remember are: a hippie, a flapper, Artemis, a nurse, Bobby Clarke of the Flyers and Lizzie Bordon.
    And yes, I continue to dress up on Halloween—at the library for the kids. My costume has now standardized into Batgirl— because Batgirl was a librarian!

    Trick or treat!

    • 10/30/2011 10:17 am

      That’s too funny, Connie! I bet the kids at the library love seeing you all dressed up! I’m actually going to dress up for work tomorrow, too…nothing too fancy– just a butterfly! 🙂 Happy Halloween!

  2. Connie permalink
    10/30/2011 6:12 pm

    I changed my profile picture to the flapper costume from high school. Got to keep in the spirit of the season!

Leave a Reply

