Skip to content

Lessons Learned…

10/30/2011

Happy Sunday everyone! I hope everyone is taking full advantage of this last day of the weekend.

 
*********************************************************************************

 

Going to graduate school part-time for my Master’s degree while working full-time is an ongoing challenge for me. I struggle at times to manage my stress level, my time, and my sanity! Clearly, it is a learning process, and today’s post is devoted just to that.

 

 

Here are the top 10 things going to graduate school has taught me….

 

10.) It’s perfectly okay to have an afternoon cup(s) of coffee to make it through the evening of class after a long day of work!

 

9.) Sometimes, you just need to vent! In my case, I have a friend who went to the same program as I am doing right now. She is the perfet person to vent to. She will let me complain about all of the work I have to do and the difficulty in balancing work and school.

 

8.) Scheduling my runs is very important. With my busy schedule it’s easy to make excuses and take the night off when I have some free time. When I schedule my run I am able to hold myself accountable, and I feel better in the long-run.

 

7.) SLEEP = Priority. Grad school combined with full-time work has taught me the importance of sleep. I have been good at going to bed earlier when I can to catch up on sleep. Getting the right amount of sleep really makes all of the difference for me. I have more energy, I’m more focused, and I’m in a better mood overall.

 

6.) Carrying my purse-size agenda is necessary. Sometimes, I just can’t keep track of everything without writing it down. My agenda is perfect for writing down grad school assignments/meetings, my internship hours, and work meetings.

 

5.) Procrastination is okay….in moderation. I can be a major procrastinator sometimes. Instead of working ahead and getting things done in my free time I find myself avoiding my school work. I have come to realize that this is okay to do-sometimes. Lately, I’ve been dividing my weekend in half- knowing that on one day I must be productive and do some school work, but on the other day I don’t even have to think about grad school. 🙂 This system has been working for me!

 

4.) Venting is okay (see #9), but you have to know the difference between venting and just plain complaining. There are times when I find myself just plain complaining about everything that I have to do. At this point, I have to stop and remind myself that complaining really gets you nowhere. I make a conscious effort to remind myself why I’m going to grad school and what my goals are for the future.

 

3.) A positive attitude is also key…I find that I am so much more efficient (and happier) when I try to think more positively. I make short goals for myself of things I want to accomplish so that I know I am completing things. I also tend to try to look ahead towards something enjoyable I have planned for the end of the week/my weekend. This keeps me motivated.

 

2.) Experience is often just as valuable as educaton. I am learning that my field placement and my work in general often teaches me things that I couldn’t learn in a classroom setting. It’s been interesting to connect what I’m learning in grad school to what I’m practicing each day.

 

1.) Life is all about balance. We all need to think of life in this way. Balancing work, school, family, a social life, exercise, and more is so important! The perfect balance is hard to find, and I am constantly learning this!

 

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/30/2011 12:57 pm

    I’m with you on a lot of those points. How much longer do you have? I finished my Master’s last December, and I also did it while working full time. When I finished, I was amazed with the free time I had. I managed to fill it pretty quickly though. It’s funny how we can manage to do that.

    • 10/30/2011 1:14 pm

      I will graduate with my Master’s in May 2013. That seems really far off right now!!! It’s a 3-year program, and the first two years involve summers as well.

  2. Connie permalink
    10/30/2011 7:59 pm

    I really pushed it and completed my master’s in one year. When I wasn’t working, I lived on Drexel’s message boards. It seemed like a crazy, Herculean task at the time, but in the end you will be very proud of your accomplishment. I like your idea of scheduling running time. I keep long hours these days and it has been very easy to blow off the gym. I will definitely try to schedule gym time.

    • 10/31/2011 3:00 pm

      Wow…Connie, finishing your degree in one year sounds crazy! Good for you!

  3. 10/31/2011 8:45 am

    I give you SUCH credit for juggling all that you do and with a smile on your face, to boot! Love your list btw, you’re right on all counts – especially on cutting yourself some slack sometimes, especially when your plate is so full!

    • 10/31/2011 2:55 pm

      Thanks Jess…I couldn’t do it all without a positive attitude!

Leave a Reply

