Skip to content

Bargain Shopping How-To

11/08/2011

Yes– I am that girl who rarely buys something at full price for herself. I’m that girl who searches for the best deal even if that means hunting through a disorganized clearanced rack. I’m that girl who wants to brag to other people about finding “the cutest shirt for just 5 dollars,” not realizing that some people might not be so impressed. I’m that girl who doesn’t really care if clothing is “name-brand,” as long as it fits my style. I am a bargain shopper—and I am proud of it.

 

 

Pinned Image

(source)

 

 

Today I’m sharing some of my tips for bargain shopping. Here’s how I find some of the best clothing items for less than you’d think:

 

  • Location is not always important. I’m not picky about where I shop. I’m not glued to wearing certain name brands. I will dress in just about anything as long as it is cute, comfortable and fits my style. This means that I do not object to shopping at chain retail stores–including Walmart and Target. I think that sometimes you have to realize that brand or store name is not all that important. I often get the most compliments about clothing or accessories that I got a low cost from a retail store. Go outside of the mall and try these stores from time to time. You may just find something that you like!
  •  

  • Dig deep (into the clearance rack). The clearance rack at Kohl’s and my other favorites stores is my best friend! I find so many great deals by hunting through the clearance racks at the mall or elsewhere. You have to be patient though– sometimes it’s a hassle to sift through messy clearance racks, but it can certainly pay off. (Remember that running jacket that I purchased on clearance? Only $15!)
  •  

  • Know when to spend and when to splurge…There are times when I will spend a decent amount of money on something because I know it’s worth it. Take for example my leather boots that I purchased this weekend- completely worth it. I’m a firm believer in spending a pretty penny on shoes, purses, or other items from time to time because I know it’s worth it. At the same time, however, you also have to know when to not spend so much money. I buy most of my flats for work at Payless because I am on my feet with the children a lot and my shoes may be wrecked quite easily. I feel much better ruining a pair of $15 flats that I would if they had cost me $50!
  •  

  • Cutting coupons does not make you cheap; it makes you smart! I often use coupons when clothes shopping. I receive coupons by mail and email that help me on my bargain shopping adventures! Often by signing up to receive coupons by email you find out about sales early and you receive extra discounts that you wouldn’t otherwise receive.
  •  

  • Find a bargain shopping partner! Let’s face it- shopping is more fun when you’re with other people that you enjoy. I also tend to find better discounts when I’m shopping with a friend or family member (especially my mom :)). Often times, the person you are with can help you scour out for the best deals!
  •  

     

     

Tell me: Are you a bargain shopper? What are some of your best tips for getting the best deals?

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/08/2011 8:19 am

    Great tips!

  2. 11/08/2011 8:43 am

    I try to take advantage of Kohls Cash whenever possible. It’s basically free money, so you might as well use it. I also signed up for a Target Debit Card, which saves me 5% with every purchase and comes straight out of my bank account…not a credit card. I am a big sales rack shopper also.

    • 11/08/2011 9:52 pm

      A Target debit card? I didn’t know there was such a thing! I was just shopping there today. Thanks for the tip, Lisa!

      • 11/09/2011 8:47 am

        I didn’t know about it either until I worked their part time this summer while I was off from teaching. It’s such a good deal because it saves you money every time you use it.

  3. 11/08/2011 11:50 pm

    I’d consider myself a bargain shopper for sure. I used to buy things full priced and see it half the price a month later! It’s hard for me to buy things full priced – but I can only hunt so much!

  4. 11/09/2011 9:47 pm

    Great tips! I’m a stay at home mom now, so I’m trying out the “coupon thing” a little bit at a time. Can you suggest websites to go to for coupons, etc? Thanks!

    • 11/12/2011 4:03 pm

      Usually, I just agree to sign up for coupons by email anytime I’m shopping–that means coupons from Kohl’s, Payless, Bath and Body Works, and so on….
      If you provide your email address and phone number at the check-out counter, you get all sorts of great coupons by email and mail! That’s my best advice 🙂 I’ve also signed up for coupons through Groupon.com in the past.

Trackbacks

  1. Bargain Shopping How-To « Let Me Be Whats Underneath | Fashion World for She

Leave a Reply

