Skip to content

Without Music.

11/09/2011

After work today I ran. Without music. Normally, I will run with my Ipod, or I will run with a friend and chat along the way.

 

 

Today I decided to just go. I decided to just throw on my sneakers and run….

 

 

Pinned Image

(source)

 

 

I ran just over 3 miles in about 35 minutes in the cool Autumn air. It wasn’t about the time or the distance, though (even if this was my absolute best run to date :)). It wasn’t about how fast or how slow I was running. It was about the feelings that I felt. I ran, and I felt clarity. I felt strong. I felt calm. I felt confident. I felt better than I had ever before during a run. I gave the run my all.

 

 

Some people run because it allows them to stop thinking about things and clear their minds. Sometimes, however, I run to think. Today when I ran, I ran solely for that purpose. I thought about my day. I thought about what went well and what was stressful. I thought about the positive feedback I received during an evaluation today with my field instructor and grad school professor. I thought about how to handle some difficult situations. I thought about my plans for the rest of the week. I thought about my blog. I thought about what I’m thankful for. I thought about my upcoming 5k race. I thought about my strengths, and I thought about my weaknesses. I did a lot of thinking, and by the end of my run, I felt in control of my thoughts. I felt more organized and capable of handling things.

 

Running without music or conversation was simple, but enjoyable at the same time. I thought I would become bored, but I didn’t– not even for a minute. I can’t wait to do it again! 🙂

 

 

 

 

Tell me: Do you run with others? With music? What does running do for you?

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/09/2011 7:29 pm

    I have been doing my long weekend runs with my roommate, but I do my week day run by myself. And I always run without music. I love that it gives me time to think.

    • 11/11/2011 9:27 pm

      You’re right—it’s the perfect time to think, Lisa!

  2. 11/09/2011 9:07 pm

    YES!!! This is when running (at least for me) really gets me to let go and to get into the moments of the run itself. The sights and sounds. The way my feet hit the pavement. The little convo between my husband and I as we trot along. It’s the best feeling ever. No music needed, EVER, in my book 🙂

    • 11/11/2011 9:28 pm

      I am so happy I tried running without music or a friend; it was such a good experience. I may have to stick to no music runs, as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

