Skip to content

Becoming Anxious…

11/12/2011

One week from now I will be finished running my first 5k race! It’s only 1 week away, but right now it feels like forever away. I’d be lying if I didn’t admit that I’m not only feeling excited. I’m starting to feel anxious. I shouldn’t necessarily be feeling anxious though. I know I can do it. I know I can run 3.1 miles because I’ve done it already (with only a few short walking breaks). There’s just something about the word “race” that makes me nervous…

 

 

(source)

 

 

 

I feel like the word, “race” implies competition, speed, and contest.

 

Honestly I’ve never considered myself a competitive person. I usually don’t care about winning or losing. I’ve never played on a sports teams a day in my life. Now, however, I’m starting to feel (and understand) the thrill of competition. It’s not that I want to run the fastest time or win by any means, but I do want to give this race my all. I want to compete with myself. I want to show myself that I am able to compete. I want to be proud of myself and my effort. That’s the kind of competition I’m interested in during this race. Competition with myself.

 

Still I think I have a right to feel anxious, and I can surely can’t help it. I can’t help the way I feel. This is my first race, my first taste of competition. I’m excited, but also anxious.

 

 

 

So to all of you runners out there, tell me: How do you handle pre-race anxiety? How can I prep for my upcoming race and stay calm?

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Reese @ Reese's Resolution permalink
    11/13/2011 6:59 pm

    Good luck! I can’t wait to read about how it goes.. I’m sure you will do great! I just registered for my first 5k in January so I will be preparing for that, and your blog is one of the ones I’ve been following that is inspiring me! Thanks! 🙂

    • 11/13/2011 7:05 pm

      Thanks so much for the comment! I will definitely let everyone know on here how the race goes. Just running a 5k at all is progress for me, so I’m already happy! I’m glad you’ve been following my blog, and it’s been helping you. I’ll be sure to check out yours!

Trackbacks

  1. Catching Up! « Let Me Be Whats Underneath
  2. The Story Behind the Blog! « Let Me Be What's Underneath

Leave a Reply

