Skip to content

So close!

11/17/2011

At the end of my work day, I returned to my office to find a very kind note resting on my desk.

 

It was from a wonderful lady who volunteers twice a week in our program, and it said:
“Good luck on your race this Saturday. I can’t wait to hear the story!”

 

This note not only put a smile on my face, but also reminded me of how far I have come and how close I am to achieving my goal.

 

 

Pinned Image

(source)

 

 

 

On Saturday morning at 8 a.m. I will face the chilly morning temperatures to run in my first 5k race. At this point I am now more excited than anxious. I am also feeling confident. I know I can do this. Despite never being on a sports team or never considering myself an athlete, I know I can participate in this race.

 

 

I cannot wait to cross the finish line and feel a sense of accomplishment.

 

I cannot wait to share with others the highlights of my race.

 

I cannot wait to do what I used to think I couldn’t.

 

 

 

 

 

***I will definitely be sharing the highlights of my race on here eventually! Tomorrow night I will be picking up my race packet! 🙂

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/29/1999 7:00 pm

    It’s here! That’s so exciting!! Good luck & have fun!

  2. Reese @ Reese's Resolution permalink
    11/17/2011 11:00 pm

    Yeah! So excited for you!

    How long have you been training for it?? I gave myself 8 weeks but I’m thinking that was a mistake and not enough time… and I’m not even done with the first week 😦

    • 11/19/2011 7:44 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Reese. It’s hard to target how long I’ve been training. I started running (with some walking involved) back in April. Since then I had stopped running consistently for a month or so in between because of some changes to my schedule. I signed up for this 5k with six weeks to prepare. This seemed to give me plenty of time to train, but more would always be better!

  3. 11/18/2011 9:14 am

    YAY!!! have an awesome race tomorrow!! I’ll be thinking of you!

    • 11/19/2011 7:44 pm

      Thanks Jess!! You are so encouraging— I ALWAYS appreciate your comments and feedback! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Catching Up! « Let Me Be Whats Underneath

Leave a Reply

