Skip to content

Race Recap-Give Thanks 5K

11/19/2011

I never fully understood the reasons why people choose to participate in races until today.

 

Today was my first experience running in a 5K race, and I already know that it won’t be my last. My experience was positive from start to finish. I appreciated the sense of community that came from running with a group; the excitement that was involved; and the encouragement I felt from those around me.

 

Above all things, I enjoyed the sense of pride and accomplishment that I felt as I crossed the finish line.

 

 

 

 

I ran with my friend, Crista in today’s 5K race located in a town close by my home. I felt anxious before starting the race. In fact, I even woke up this morning with stomach ache as a result of my nerves. I was cold waiting for the race to begin (the temperature was only in the 30s this morning at 8 a.m.), but as soon as I heard the announcer yell to start I instantly felt better. Crista and I both ran without difficulty for the first mile and a half-somewhat slow, but steady. I forgot about being cold or nervous and just ran. I felt comfortable- so comfortable that I was even making small talk with others runners who were alongside of me.

 

 

The second half of the race began with a slight hill. We moved past the high school to a local rail to trail pathway. Crista and I were both able to keep running until the 2-mile mark where water was provided. We slowed to a walk while drinking some water for about 2 minutes. Then, we continued running. Eventually, with only a half-mile to goI started running faster. I passed some runners and headed towards the finish line.

 

 

During my last quarter of a mile I was motivated by the encouraging words of volunteers working the race.

 

People yelled to me, “Keep going, you’re almost there,” “you’re looking stronger, keep it up,” and “there’s only a quarter mile left…you can do it.”

 

These words carried me to the finish line, and I saw my race time: 32:10.

 

 

 

 

I went into this race (my first 5K) without any clear goals, but to finish and give it my all. Now that it’s over, I can honestly say that I’m happy with my finish time. There’s no way I could have even finished a 5K running the whole time a few months ago. This was a great first race experience, and I am so proud of myself.

 

 

 

All I can say now is when and where is my next race?

 

I think I might just get addicted if I keep this running thing up! 🙂

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/29/1999 7:00 pm

    Yay congrats!! That is so great! Isnt running in 5k’s amazing? I’ve done 2 this fall, and im so addicted! Like you, I would have never thought I could do this..but I trained since Aug and now im an avide 2-3 mile runner a few times a week! Great job Amanda, you go girl!

    • 11/21/2011 3:49 pm

      Thanks Mindee— it was so much fun! I can’t wait to do it again. I’m checking out your blog right now 🙂

  2. 11/20/2011 3:01 pm

    YAY!!! I knew you’d not only have a great time during this race but that you’d find yourself wanting to run more races. Congrats, you’re a runner!! 🙂

    • 11/20/2011 3:23 pm

      Thanks Jess! I’m still excited about it even today!!! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Catching Up! « Let Me Be Whats Underneath
  2. The Story Behind the Blog! « Let Me Be What's Underneath

Leave a Reply

