Skip to content

Out of my comfort zone…

11/24/2011

Most of the time I enjoy staying within my comfort zone. It feels safe and secure to me. I feel comfortable following my normal routine and doing what feels familiar. It’s scary to step outside of what I’m used to and take a risk. Let’s face it– take a risk means you can fail, and failure can be frightening…

 

 

Pinned Image

(source)

 

 

I am proud and happy to say that as of recently I have been stepping outside of my comfort zone more and more often. I have been taking small risks and stepping outside of my box. My most recent risk has been my continued endeavor in running. I can’t say enough how good I feel about running my first 5K. I’m sure this race is going to be one of many that I complete. Now, since the weather is taking a turn for the colder, I have decided to join a local gym so that I can continue running (indoors on a treadmill). I don’t want to give up on running purely due to the weather. I want to stay motivated and on top of my training. I want to keep running.

 

 

Joining a gym may seem like no big deal to most people, but for me this is another step outside of my comfort zone. I have never felt entirely comfortable in a gym setting. Even before going to tour the local gym a couple of days ago I was feeling anxious, and I’m not even sure why. I think people who work out and come across as confident in the gym setting intimidate me to a certain degree. I think that I feel nervous because I have never been the “gym-type.” I have never been into exercise or working out. Although I have always been thin, I have never been focused on health or exercise. This is all new to me. I am completely new to the gym setting. I am new to running. I am new to exercise and healthy living. After touring the gym the other night and giving it some thought, however, I realized that I don’t need to feel nervous. Just because it’s new to me doesn’t mean that I can’t feel comfortable. Just because I’m not used to going to a gym doesn’t mean I can’t start. Just because I haven’t focused on exercise in the past doesn’t mean I can’t start now. Just because I feel anxious doesn’t mean that I should give up on running and everything that I have started to accomplish.

 

 

 

 

Life is all about taking risks- big or small. Don’t let anxiety, feel of failure, or doubt prevent you from accomplishment. I will be joining the gym tomorrow to continue my progress in running and living a more active life! 🙂

 

 

 

 

Tell me: What are some of the risks that you’ve taken recently? Are you a risk-taker by nature or do you stay in your comfort zone?

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/25/2011 11:37 am

    I’m a firm believer in getting uncomfortable in life. It’s the best way to learn and grow and evolve. I’m so glad that you’re finding that getting out of your comfort zone is worth the risk!

Leave a Reply

