Skip to content

A Homemade Christmas.

11/25/2011

Happy Black Friday, everyone! I was not one of the masses today out in the early morning hours. I have done my share of Black Friday shopping in the past, but I just wasn’t feeling it this year.

 

Today, I preferred sleeping in, relaxing, hanging up some Christmas decorations, and then going to the craft store with my mom later in the day. I will get around to Christmas shopping eventually- I promise!

 

 

 

Even though our minds may be on Christmas shopping  and sales today, I thought I would share some homemade Christmas gift ideas with all of you! These items naturally cost something to make, but they are homemade ideas and much less expensive than some of the items you probably have on your shopping list! I find that homemade gifts are perfect for friends, co-workers, neighbors, classmates, etc…

 

 

  • Christmas Cookies: You absolutely can’t go wrong with Christmas cookies as an inexpensive gift. I have brought a tray of homemade cookies into work in the past as a gift to everyone I work with, or I have even bagged up goodie bags of cookies for friends in the past. Bake an assortment of cookies, and I promise you people will be pleased!
  •  

Pinned Image

(source)

 

  • Candy, fudge, bark, chocolate covered pretzels. All of these delicious chocolate treats make perfect Christmas gifts. I have made some delicious chocolate-peppermint bark before that is always a hit. In the past I have also simply bought a variety of Christmas candy and wrapped it up in a cute holiday mug. This year I am contemplating making some chocolate-covered pretzels coated with Christmas sprinkles!
  •  

Pinned Image

(source)

 

 

  • Homemade Christmas Ornaments: I love the idea of giving and receiving homemade Christmas ornaments during the holiday season! Last year, I made some ornaments out of styrofoam balls covered in different colors of fabric and gave them to a few different friends. The possiblities are really endless, though. All you need to do is browse the internet to find some really cute ideas! This year I have another idea up my sleeve, but I won’t be sharing that….yet.
  •  

Homemade christmas ornaments!

(source)

 

 

  • Holiday mixes! This is one gift that I haven’t tried just yet, but I love the idea of it. A great gift idea is to provide people with a cookie recipe and include all of the dry ingredients in a cute, decorative jar. Another variation is to do hot chocolate mix with marshmallows in some type of decorative bag or container. See some of the pictures below for a better idea.
  •  

Pinned Image

(source)

 

 

Pinned Image

(source)

 

 

 

Homemade Christmas gifts can come across as thoughtful and creative when you take the time to give some effort to them. I think that your friends, family members, co-workers, and neighbors will be able to see that you care about them through any of these gifts. Remember gift giving is all about the amount of thought you put in the gifts–not the amount of money you spend!

 

 

 

 

 

Tell me: How do you feel about homemade Christmas gifts? What are your favorite homemade gifts to give or receive?

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/25/2011 7:15 pm

    I just found your blog and I’m so glad!

    What a great post with great ideas for homemade gifts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

