Skip to content

Finding the positive….

12/09/2011

First of all, thank you to Amanda for asking me to do this. I was so surprised and honored when she asked me to do a Guest Post for her blog. I have never been asked to do that before, and the fact that she thought I was someone who could write an inspiring post about Positive Thinking was so kind.

 

 

I am a firm believer in the power of Positive Thinking.   You could say it is because I am really happy and I just like to let that show (more on that later). But the real truth is, I honestly believe that thinking positively can make a difference in how your life turns out. The school I work at follows a program called Conscious Discipline by Dr. Becky Bailey and one of the principles is the Power of Positive Thinking. They want you to realize that what you focus on, you get more of. It is so true when you think about it.

 

The truth is though? I haven’t always been a positive thinker. I was overweight most of my life and very self conscious. This also meant that I felt sorry for myself a lot. I would literally have nights where I would cry myself to sleep and wonder why my life was the way it was. I joined Weight Watchers in January of 2009 and over the next 2 ½ years lost 147 pounds. I thought that would make everything miraculously better. And it did make it a little better. I became more self confident and I was happier. But the truth is, it didn’t solve all of my problems. I still felt sorry for myself because I was single, hated my job,  and let’s face it, things don’t always go my way (shocker, I know).

 

 

But then I decided that if I was going to be happy, I had to make the decision to stop focusing on the negative and to focus more on the positive. I started out with the mantra of “fake it till you make it.”And I put on that smile and pretended I was happy even when I wasn’t. Soon, I started finding more and more inspirational quotes that made me realize that there were things in my life I could be extremely happy about. So that’s what I focused on.

 

I was proud of my weight loss, so I began to share my story. I was proud of my running, so I set new loftier running goals for myself. I may not have loved my job, but I loved aspects of it, so I focused on those. I didn’t like being single, but I loved spending time with my family and friends, so I did that as often as possible.

 

And eventually, things really started going my way. I am not employed by Weight Watchers part time and will be able to inspire others with my weight loss story. I just finished running my first Half Marathon and am training to run a Full. I found a new job that I absolutely love. And, I’m happily dating someone.

 

 

The thing is…I don’t think I would have been ready for all of these things in my life if I wasn’t in a Positive frame of mind. I actually like myself and my life. And even on rough days, I try to find something positive to focus on. Wouldn’t you rather live happily focusing on the positive things in life?

 

 

********************************************************************************
Thanks so much to Lisa for her post!!! Please visit her blog @ Experience Life With Me.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

