Skip to content

Fake it ’till you make it!

12/14/2011

I am a firm believer in the philosophy- “Fake it ’till you make it.” I don’t have all of the answers 100% of the time. In fact, I don’t even have all of the answers 50% of the time. Life is all about doing what you can with what you have wherever you are. Everyday I follow this motto–at work, at grad school, with friendships/relationships. I do the best I can.

 

I pretend that I’m in a great mood even if I could feel better. I try to be energetic even if I had an awful night of sleep. I smile and practice having patience even when I feel stressed out. Even though I’m just “faking it,” sooner or later I really do feel better. I feel happier just by acting happier; I feel like I have more energy simply by keeping myself busy; I feel calmer just by smiling and taking some deep breaths. I “fake it” until I don’t have to anymore.

 

 

This motto also applies to my baking skills. 🙂 I fool a lot of people into thinking that I take my time to bake some delicious treats when really I put forth minimal effort! I am able to whip up some great-looking and great-tasting treats without it consuming all of my precious time. Just earlier this week, for example, I baked up some delicious cupcakes for a co-worker’s birthday. I don’t mind saying that these cupcakes were not homemade. They were fun-fetti (from a box) with spray can frosting, but they looked and tasted delicious (if I do say so myself :)).

 

Tonight, I whipped up another treat that required very minimal effort. I love baking/cooking when it involves minimal time, ingredients, and expertise!

 

I can’t take credit for these because I found the recipe via Pinterest.

 

 

 

Rolo Pretzels

 

You need: 1 Bag of Rolos, Round Pretzels, & Christmas M&Ms

 

 

  1. Preheat your over to 325 degrees.
  2. Line a tray (covered in wax paper) with the pretzels and place a Rolo on the center of each pretzel.
  3. Pop the tray in the oven for 4 minutes.
  4. When the time’s up, take the tray out, and gently place an M&M on the center of each pretzel.
  5. Let the pretzels set in the fridge until set, and enjoy! 🙂
  6.  

     

 

 

 

You can also do a similar recipe using Hershey Kisses instead of Rolo’s. This is holiday baking at it simplest– perfect to enjoy on your own or use as Christmas gifts!

 

 

 

Tell me: What do you think of the expression “fake it ’till you make it,” and what’s your favorite (easy) holiday recipe?

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/14/2011 9:18 pm

    I’m a huge believer in faking it ’till ya make it too — particularly when in an uncomfortable situations in life that challenge you, stretch you out of your comfort zone, etc. Faking it until you feel genuine confidence can make all the difference in the world – if you can fool everyone around you into thinking you’re uber confident, soon enough you’ll believe it too!

    PS. I love those rolo pretzels, my sister-in-law makes them all the time during the holidays! Yum!

  2. 12/15/2011 8:11 am

    Love the Rolo pretzel idea… so simple!

Leave a Reply

