Skip to content

My new friend– the treadmill…

12/15/2011

Earlier this week, I made a new and unexpected friend—the treadmill. 

 

 

treadmill

(source)

 

 

About a few weeks ago I joined a local gym because the weather has turned cold, and I’m not up for braving the outdoors to run. If you’ve been reading my blog you are aware about my anxiety regarding this move. I was worried about whether or not I would “fit in” in the gym setting. I was worried about whether or not I would stay motivated and take advantage of my membership.

 

 

I was also worried about whether or not I would enjoy running indoors, on a treadmill. I had become used to running outdoors-either on my own or with the company of my friend. I liked the idea of running outdoors because I could see my progress. I could tell that I was going somewhere according to my distance.

 

Naturally, running on a treadmill (after running outdoors) has been an adjustment. Earlier this week, however, I hit up the gym after a long, stressful (to say the least) day at work. I was meeting my friend for a workout, but she ended up running late. Instead of waiting in my car I decided to head in on my own and just get started on my workout. After walking about a quarter of a mile on the treadmill, I just ran. I ran almost 2 miles straight at a slow pace on the treadmill, and it felt GREAT! The time went by quickly. I wasn’t bored, and I felt motivated to keep going. The time flew by until my friend joined me, and then I slowed to a fast walk in order to chat with her a bit.

 

 

Earlier this week was the first time that I felt comfortable running in the gym on a treadmill. The other people surrounding me didn’t bother me in the least. I was able to just zone out and run. This gym newbie is quite proud of herself. 🙂

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/15/2011 8:23 am

    I’m not a huge fan of the treadmill, because I get bored so easily, but I do appreciate it in times that I really need to run and it’s raining or super cold. I did 8 miles on the treadmill last weekend. Boring? Yes. But I felt good when I finished.

  2. 12/15/2011 11:36 am

    You should be very proud of yourself!! Great job – and of course you fit right in, don’t ever think otherwise, my fit friend! If you need some ideas on how to keep yourself from getting bored on the treadmill, I have lots of ideas 🙂

Leave a Reply

