Skip to content

Showing you truly care.

12/20/2011

Tonight, as I worked on creating some homemade Christmas gifts, I thought about how often we all forget about the true meaning of Christmas. I hate the fact that many of us (myself included at times) spend so much of our time focusing on the material things at Christmas time. We rush around from store to store attempting to find the perfect gift on everyone on our list. We spend hundreds of dollars on food, decorations, gifts, and more. We spend hours upon hours stressing about the upcoming holiday.

 

 

twinkly lights & christmas spirit

(source)

 

 

All the while we forget about what is really important at Christmas time.

 

 

For me, part of Christmas is showing those around you that you care about them. Christmas is the perfect time to remember those important to you. Christmas can be a time to say “thank you,” show appreciation, or even just put a smile on someone else’s face. I was reminded of this today when I received a card from someone with a hand-written message providing me with a compliment and words of encouragement. The card said more than: “Merry Christmas,” or “Happy Holidays.” The card was personal. The person who gave it to me took the time to write a unique message, showing that she truly cared. To me, this meant more than any gift you can buy in the store for any price. 

 

 

Try to remember this message– at Christmas time and always. You don’t have to do much to show someone you care. Sometimes all it takes are some kind words, a card, or even a homemade gift to show someone that you took the time to think of them.

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Connie permalink
    12/20/2011 11:00 pm

    We are having a small Christmas this year—not by choice, but by fate. My family keeps shrinking and with my son working at the hospital both Chrsitmas Eve and Christmas, it will just be me, my husband and my uncle (my only living relative) for Christmas.
    While this is a bit sad, the downsizing has forced me to get away from all the hoopla of the holiday. One trip to Kohl’s takes care of everyone. The wrapping is done in one evening with a minimum mess. I don’t bake a gazillion batches of cookies—-just two kind. And of course, we are no longer racing around to breakfasts with Santa, Christmas pageants and light displays. This has left me time for reflection on the true meaning of Christmas and gives me a chance to do things that I always wanted to do for Christmas, but never had the money or time.
    For example, I’ve always donated a few canned good to food drives. But this year, I went shopping specifically to buy several bags of groceries for the food bank. I enjoyed this so much more than trips to the mall—this wasn’t something I had to do, but something I elected to do. I don’t want any thanks. We’re all on this planet together and if we can help each other out we should. There have been points in my life when the kindness of others has helped me through. It’s my turn now.

  2. 12/21/2011 1:33 am

    I am COMPLETELY guilty of forgetting about the point of Christmas. Especially since everywhere is a little more crowded these days, I tend to lose my patience…A LOT. Yikes. I really need to remind myself to say calm and remember what’s important.

  3. 12/21/2011 12:36 pm

    Beautifully said. I totally agree and spend a lot of time trying to make loved ones around me feel loved – and not through gifts, but like you said – a phone call, an email,a text, a hug. A day spent together. Those are the things I truly cherish, this time of year but all year long as well.

Leave a Reply

