Skip to content

Changing my mentality

01/08/2012

For a while now I’ve been calling myself a “newbie” in terms of running and fitness. Many of you know that I only just started running last year, ran my first 5K in November, and just joined a gym (for the first time ever) in December. I talk a lot about having never been involved in team sports or fitness activities a day in my life. I’ve always been naturally thin so I was never pushed to join a sports team or work out growing up. As I grew older, however, I started to understand the real reasons why people work out, play a sport, or exercise. I became jealous of the people my age (or older) whom I saw running at the side of the road. I started to follow a beginner’s runner plan (combining walking and running), and I was hooked. I found that running gave me time to myself–time to think or not think at all. Running allowed me to de-stress and focus only on me. Running motivated me to challenge myself, and it still serves this purpose now. I enjoy running because it provides me with a consistent reminder that I am able to accomplish something that I never thought I could.

 

 

Pinned Image

(source)

 

 

Lately, I’ve been re-thinking my “newbie” mentality. I just set my New Year’s resolutions about a week ago, and some running goals were included. I am challenging myself to run more 5K races this year and to (eventually) complete a half-marathon. Complete a half-marathon? This is a daunting and scary goal. This is something the old me (the non-runner) would never even think to dream of for a minute. I’m not as worried about achieving this goal as I thought I might be though. I don’t think this goal is out of reach for me. I think this goal is difficult, but realistic (and this is how the best goals should be). I think I am strong enough and motivated enough to achieve this goal.

 

 

 

In thinking about what I need to do in order to achieve my running goals, I have realized that my mentality (in terms of running and fitness) needs an adjustment.

 

I need to do away with the “newbie” mentality.

 

I need to consider myself a “runner. I need to stop stating that I’ve only just begun and that this is all new to me. These statements don’t help inspire or motivate me. These statements seem to do the opposite. They allow me an excuse not to push myself. If I consider myself a “newbie,” I can tell myself—“I don’t have enough experience to do this, I can’t accomplish this yet, I need more time to go this distance.” These statements are not going to assist me in achieving my goals. So instead, I’m dropping this mentality, and I’m beginning the mentality of a “runner.”

 

 

Pinned Image

(source)

 

 

 

It’s time I start considering myself a “runner” in every sense of the word. It doesn’t matter how fast or slow I go; it doesn’t matter the distance I run; it doesn’t matter if I’ve been running for years or months—-I am a runner. Telling myself this as I work-out and run will help me achieve the running goals I have set for myself for this year.

 

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/08/2012 3:51 pm

    YES! That newbie mentality will hold you back, will push unnecessary fear into the forefront of your mind instead of letting you have the confidence in yourself to reach for and accomplish these goals. Just go for it!! You can totally do ANYTHING you put your mind to, no matter how “new” of a runner (or whatever) you are. Rock on!

  2. 01/08/2012 4:29 pm

    Hey Amanda!! Thanks for your comment on my blog btw! 🙂

    Don’t let that mentality hold you back!! Honestly, I still feel like a running newbie sometimes, since I’ve only been running a year and a bit, which is a lot less than most of the people I run with! It doesn’t mean anything though, because running is something that you can improve at at an amazing rate, so don’t let the concept of a half intimidate you! You can do it!!

    Have a great day! 🙂

  3. 01/08/2012 7:02 pm

    Great post, Amanda!

    I used to love running back in middle school, but when I stopped being involved in sports, my physical activity pretty much stopped too! Now that I’m back into fitness, I’ve definitely thought about taking up running. I’ve even attempted a Couch to 5K program, but I never follow it through.

    Good luck with your goal of running a half marathon!

  4. 01/08/2012 9:04 pm

    Hi Amanda! I just came across your blog, and I love this post! I just started running last year too with the Couch to 5k program. I ran a 5k in October, and a 2 mile race in November. I’m trying to keep it up this year, and increase my distance too. I’m glad I found your blog, since we are kinda in the same boat : )

    • 01/08/2012 9:18 pm

      Thanks for your comment, Paula—I just started browsing your blog, and you’re right– it seems like we are in the same boat! Please keep reading, and I’ll be following your blog, too. Maybe we can offer each other some encouragement! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The Story Behind the Blog! « Let Me Be What's Underneath

Leave a Reply

