Skip to content

The Stress of Sundays

01/15/2012

Happy Sunday, everyone!

 

If you’re anything like me, Sundays can feel quite overwhelming. Sundays remind me that I have a whole week of work and grad school and everything else ahead of me. Sundays also remind me of all of the little things that I wanted to accomplish during the weekend and have yet to do. For me, Sunday is a day for playing catch-up. Sundays feel rushed to me.

 

 

Pinned Image

(source)

 

 

It’s very rare that Sunday is a day  where I sit back and rest. Instead, I usually scramble around to do a million and one things that I have down on my to-do list.

 

 

I check emails.

I write blog posts.

I read for grad school.

I run errands.

I organize.

I work out at the gym.

I do laundry.

I write papers.

 

The list could go on and on…

 

 

I end up feeling stressed and overwhelmed at times. I feel disappointed because I never finish all of the things written down on my to-do list. To make it even worse, I constantly find more things that I just have to get done. I add things to my already overwhelming to-do list. I become fixated on what I have to get done and fail to focus on what I need to do for enjoyment and relaxation.

 

 

Pinned Image

(source)

 

 

I have come to realize that this is not a pattern that is healthy nor is it a pattern that I am proud of falling into lately. Sunday should be a day of rest and relaxation. Sunday should be a day of limited stress. Sundays can be used for running errands and playing catch-up, but they should never leave you feeling overwhelmed. It’s my goal to start devoting more of my Sunday to doing things that I enjoy doing—things that leave me feeling calm and not stressed; things that leave me feeling happy. I want to spend more time on Sundays resting, not thinking about work or school. I want to spend more time focusing on me.

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/15/2012 12:17 pm

    I completely agree. Sundays are a WONDERFUL day, both for rest, relaxation, and general hanging out purposes 🙂 I’ve found that being more organized in general has really helped in that sense, especially when it comes to getting things done in a timely manner. Thank goodness classes don’t start again until Tuesday! 😉

    • 01/15/2012 6:35 pm

      I wish I had off tomorrow for MLK day, but I still have to go to work! I am trying to be more organized though, throughout the upcoming week so my weekend has some more free time!

Leave a Reply

