Skip to content

The “Here and Now”

01/26/2012

Reasons why I have every right to feel stressed and overwhelmed this week:
 

  • I’ve worked over 8 hours every day this week.
  • Class two nights in a row.
  • Not getting enough sleep.
  • Long days.
  • We’ve been minus one staff at work since Wednesday.
  • My desk at work is cluttered with things to do.
  • School work and reading needs to be completed.
  • Needy kids at work.
  • Rude secretaries.
  •  

     

 

Reasons why I’m choosing NOT to be stressed:

 

  • It won’t make things any better.
  • It won’t help me complete my work.
  • I can’t control many of the things that I feel stressed about.
  • I don’t have control over other people’s behaviors.
  • Tomorrow is Friday! 🙂
  • It’s more enjoyable to laugh through the craziness!
  • Stress doesn’t do anything positive for your health.
  • I don’t want to feel miserable or be in a bad mood.
  • I know that I’m not the only one who has many things to do.
  •  

     

 

 

Compare these two lists of mine and then make your own. Do you have reasons to feel stressed? Of course you do. We all do, but there are no benefits to giving in to the stress and feeling overwhelmed. Allowing stress to take over only promotes negative consequences. You will feel more tired, more overwhelmed, and you won’t be able to focus on your work. Allowing stress to take over makes you and others around you feel worse!

 

 

Instead of feeling stressed in times when I have a lot to do, I try to remind myself to focus on the present.

 

 

 

Pinned Image

(source)

 

 

 

I focus on the here and now, and I remind myself that I only have control over certain things. Worrying and perseverating on the future and everything I need to complete will get me nowhere. It’s much more beneficial for me to sit down and focus on what I can accomplish in the moment. I make lists. I prioritize. I break tasks down into small steps. I focus on one thing at a time. This leaves me feeling more in control of my situation. I feel less stressed and more relaxed overall.

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

