Skip to content

The Story Behind the Blog!

01/28/2012

Over the past month or so, my blog has really taken off in a number of ways.

 

  • My number of followers has increased significantly.
  • I’ve started using different social media outlets (Facebook, Twitter, etc…) to advertise my blog more.
  • I have been receiving more comments on my posts–asking questions or just feedback.
  • I have started to get better at regularly posting on my blog. (If you remember this was my New Year’s resolution!)
  •  

     

Pinned Image

(source)

 

 

Since all of this has been happening I thought it was only appropriate to write a post about how (and WHY) I started blogging.

 

Let’s talk first about how I started….

 

The very first blog I read (found randomly by searching on Google) was Meghann’s blog (Meals and Miles). I loved (and still do) how Meghann was a healthy living blogger who incorporates everything about her everyday life into her blog posts. Meghann’s posts are funny, informative, insightful, and often motivational at times. She’s also incredibly relatable. I could read her posts and completely understand her perspective on things.

 

After reading Meals and Miles, I started to find other blogs that I enjoyed reading, as well. Some were healthy living blogs, focused on running and exercise; while others were blogs about fashion, food, friends, and everyday life. I started to think to myself, “I could do this.” I began thinking of a theme for my blog. I started out not knowing what I would blog about, but I soon began to develop more of a focus.

 

 

 

 

 

I incorporated my running journey into my blog posts (read: Progress, Out of the Ordinary, Becoming Anxious, Race Recap, and Changing My Mentality). I used my blog to hold myself accountable at the start of my running journey (and I still do at times). I realized, however, that running wasn’t the only thing I would blog about. I had other interests and things to draw on from my everyday life, including: my relationships with others, work, graduate school, and other areas. My blog soon evolved into a positive-thinking blog (hence the tagline: “navigating through life with a mostly positive attitude”).

 

 

 

 

Some of my favorite blog posts have been the ones that have focused on trying to remain positive and finding happiness in your everyday life–despite any stress or hard times that you may be experiencing.

 

 

 

 

Now let’s talk about the “why” part. Why do I blog? I have more than plenty of things to keep my busy in my everyday life, so why do I choose to fit blogging into my schedule?

 

I blog because it provides me with a creative outlet talk about my feelings–when I’m happy, stressed, sad, angry, excited, or anything else. Blogging allows me to communicate my feelings with others (some people I may know in person and others who I’ve only met through blogging).

 

I blog because it is fun and enjoyable for me. I have always loved writing, and blogging is the simplest way to have my writing published for others to read.

 

Blogging also allows me to feel apart of a community of online bloggers. I have “met” (not in person yet) many wonderful people through blogging. It’s so great to find people you can relate to solely by reading their blogs. I am constantly discovering new bloggers that I enjoy on a daily basis.

 

Finally, I blog because it’s easy (well most of the time…) I’m not saying that I always know what I’m going to post about in my blog, but many times it’s easier for me to write about something than it is to talk about something. Communicating through writing comes pretty naturally for me.

 

 

 

I hope you all continue to follow my blog, and I promise to keep having new things in store for you! I appreciate all of your comments, questions, and feedback!  Please read any of the above linked posts as these are some of my favorite posts that I have written so far. Thank you! 🙂

 

 

 

Tell me: About your blogging experience. How did you start? Why do you blog?

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/28/2012 12:45 pm

    Congratulations… i enjoy reading your blog 🙂 Cheers to you

  2. 01/28/2012 1:14 pm

    I love reading your blog. I use my blog mainly as a way to say things that I feel like saying, but don’t really have another outlet for. Like you, I love all of the interesting people I have found through blogging, though, which makes me want to keep doing it.

  3. 01/29/2012 1:06 pm

    I love hearing how you got into blogging to begin with and what drives you to blog today. I totally agree with the “why” part — I blog for me, it’s my outlet to air my thoughts and feeling, to share my passion for fitness and healthy living and paying it forward in any way that I can. I LOVE how many wonderful people I’ve met through blogging, it’s filled such a huge part of my life and I feel so very grateful for that!

Leave a Reply

